You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting anew as a Techie - by @lightforge13

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Did it not seem a bit late to get into tech? I learned to code when I was about 17 and I thought that was a bit late at the time. I still think it was late for me. I have a degree that isn't IT related and I always look for things associated with that. Even though I keep up with programming and understand it fairly well, I feel intimidated to look for any programming work.

Sort:  

P.S. Not trying to be discouraging, just trying to get your take. I wish you the best of luck with tech.

Thanks for the comment @rosebudds. To be honest, I'm not going to disagree with you, it is late, and the learning curve is insane. I have my doubts but I revel at the challenge. I hit the ceiling of my previous designation and the thought of moving to another job doing the same mundane things day in and day out felt like a much higher hurdle than changing professions completely. Granted, I could have made the change slowly, carefully picking jobs that will eventually get me to tech, doing diplomas and so on and honestly it would have been a lot easier. However, time moves on faster than we want it to, and tech changes rapidly, so even experienced guys are always learning. But truth be told, I was given a golden opportunity to take the dive, and if it wasn't for that, I'd probably still be bored out of my mind with the same old things. I didn't plan for this at all, but we don't have much control over our future so we go with the flow and see where it takes us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83