The Two Kinds of People

in #blog4 years ago (edited)

I've come to the highly original conclusion that there are two kinds of people.

The kind that finishes the books on their shelves, and the kind that reads a couple of pages, leaving the rest unread. I used to be the kind of person who believed that one was better than the other, but since then, I've grown. It's all a matter of what kind of experience you want to put yourself through. And you shouldn't feel ashamed about it.

There was a time in college where I wanted to read a couple of pages of books at a time. I wanted to be with women for a few moments and make those moments last. I wanted to become a symbol for people to look back at, rather than a constant in their lives.

It's an artist's dream after all, to affect people so deeply that you forget how much you affected them.

But I was never that guy. I tried to become that guy and I ended up alone in my room, wondering where the hell the time went. If anyone was affected, they sure as hell weren't letting me know. And even if they did, I realized, who cares?

A stranger's opinion is sweet, but it fades. I realized that I wanted my relationships with people to last. The inspiration I gave would vanish with my life. How cruel!

Now, I make sure to listen to people deeply everyday I'm with them. I don't bother talking to a stranger unless there's a second time on the horizon. I have a weak heart for people. I am not the man I tried to be when I was younger. And I'm glad.

If I go to heaven and find myself with a hundred virgins, I would probably go back to Earth to find my wife again.

I have chosen the unsexy bliss of normalcy. But I have to say that it's not boring.

Because when you finish the pages of a great book, a certain feeling washes over you. A sublime feeling. A feeling of deep empathy, and understanding of the individual who wrote the book. Even in fiction, these things shine through.

I want to look at a friend's eyes and know that they will remain. What can I say? I'm a sentimental man.

I want to drink milk at a bar and tell jokes while the artists get drunk and write stories about their lovers. The artists will remember woman #22 as a muse as I remain monogamous and true. But we will laugh at the same jokes, there's no doubt about that.

Because I'm funny. Always have been.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68