The best thing I overpaid for - A personal anecdote

in #blog7 years ago

Untitled.png

A while ago, I was waiting at the red-light of a busy signal on my way home from office.

Sitting on my motorcycle, I observed an overweight middle-aged lady, carrying a small basket and trying to sell commuters packs of 'chikki' (its's a very common type of candy made of jaggery and peanuts - similar to a peanut brittle). The lady was ostensibly in considerable pain (probably bad joints or rheumatism - her movements were similar to that my mother, who suffers from rheumatism). She wasn't selling much and in the couple of minutes I observed her I realised she wasn't much of a saleswoman either.

When she was close enough, I waved at her and called her over.

"Can you give me one packet?" I asked.

She took out a packet of 30 pieces and handed it over.

"How much I asked?"

"60 Rupees"

I put the pack in my bag, pulled out my wallet and handed over the cash and just said thanks.

The lady surprised for fleeting moment, thanked me raised her hand and gave me a blessing. She probably wasn't accustomed to somebody who didn’t bargain before buying from her.

I smiled, started my motorcycle and continued my journey - the light had just turned green.

When I reached home, I checked the price label and then kept the 'Chikki' pack on my kitchen ledge.

The label price said "MRP Rupees 30"

...It didn't matter, I was certain she needed that extra money far more than I did..


PS: Also posted by the author as an answer on Quora
Sort:  

Why no response? I have seen worse told stories, without a point to them, get the usual crappy 'loved it' etc with the odd cent upvote. Nothing for this is just how steemit works, it seems.

I hope you gather more readers - I'll follow, but I do not read crypto stuff, just stories that show the human side (even if the character is not a human).

EDIT: No wonder the comment was hidden, a real crappy one!

I'll try a more recent post of yours and give my upvote there, even if it is about crypto (!)
I guess my comment will now disappear!

@arthur.grafo Thanks for the comment - most of my early posts don't have any comments or upvotes - the downsides of being a minnow :)

A good number of my old posts are stories and anecdotes from life though of late I write on crypto also ..

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82