You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding A Place: The Result Of Years Of Failure

in #blog7 years ago

I know I'm late to the party here, but I'm new to Steemit, and browsing in some of the old posts.

This post was really incredible. That is a brilliant story you went on, and I totally get it. I write fiction, and I never want to make it just passable or good, I always want to do my best. I've got a few projects which I have on hold simply because I'm not good enough to finish them how I want them to be finished.

I'm going to make them happen one day, after I have a few more books under my belt, but for now, I write other things to hone my skills.

And about that part where one of the students bowed to you, and you were offended by it, I think I understand. Honestly though, I feel its almost something of a defense mechanism. We see those who have accomplished more than we have and try to assign them some special trait or talent that we don't have, so we can insulate ourselves from feeling like a failure if we don't achieve at the same level. But to those who have achieved a lot, it's clear to them that there is no special trait, except maybe perseverance, and raw determination.

Sort:  

I want to be a writer as well, and I have much less talent than you. I want to see your efforts. I am going to follow you and check out your future posts. You will do well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12