The Value of Being Prepared

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Source


I just wanted to share a story of something that recently happened as well as review a product. The product in question in my Italian Army surplus sewing kit which can be had at Varusteleka for $1.99. Thread, pins, buttons, scissors, and a massive pack of needles for this cheap is a steal. I added one to my past order because it never hurts to have one around right? The best thing is, it's wicked compact.

A while back, I was wearing my grandpa's old leather jacket. I put my hand in the outside pocket and the seam nearly disintegrated. Luckily for me, I had my kit in my backpack, so I sat down, pulled out my gear and got to work repairing. The needles are meant for cloth and not leather so I ended up running a few loops of stitching through the existing holes at the start and end of the separation to keep seam from unraveling further. It wasn't the cleaned stitching ever, but it did the trick until I could take it somewhere for real repairs. With actual skills, I would have been able to make it much cleaner.

Moral of the story

Always be prepared.

Final Review

When I needed the sewing kit, it was with me and performed exactly as intended. This is the highest praise something like this can get. I will certainly be picking up a second kit so that I can have one in my room as well as my backpack. After all, what good is it to have something if you don't have it when you actually need it?

Sort:  

very interesting, i wish opportunities occur when we are prepared but sometimes it not so. thanks for this

good story, you give a good understanding for the reader, because in life we often forget the little things that make us have to hold the shame.
like the example of clothes we use suddenly torn while attending a party. but we do not bring other preparations to wear.
thank you for useful information from you. Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97