Road to Steemfest: Playing Catch up! After hours and Free Time

in #blog6 years ago (edited)
So I've known about @anomadsoul's Road to Steemfest freewrite for a while now, and although I swear I've been meaning to post and engage, it hasn't happened.. until now! I can talk about all the reasons of why this has happened, but I'd rather spend that time looking forward and playing some catch up.
So most of the last 2 months, I've hardly posted and commented, this is not to say that I didn't read anyone's Road to Steemfest posts, I was just in lurker mode :P

I know the earlier weeks were more about freewriting, and the later weeks, there were topics people could focus on, so thought I'd catch up with some of those:
 

3 fun facts about me

1. I used to be pretty religious, as in going to church 3-4 times a week religious
I find this a fun fact, because most who've met me in person would never have guessed that I used to be very religious. To those who I'll be meeting me for the first time at Steemfest, you'll see why ;) haha
I'd like to think that my years as a super judgemental, and close minded religious person (merely describing how I used to be, and not implying that all religious people are) has actually made me the accepting and open minded person that I am today.
2. I used to be really into body piercings
In my early teens, I was super intrigued by body piercings, I saw it as an art form, and something about "pain" was very beautiful to me. I was a bit of a closet goth at one point. I frequented bme.freeq, not sure if it's around now. And loved looking at suspensions and body modifications, google it at your own risk ;)
Naturally I had a few of my own body piercings, but because of conservative family, I was very "smart" about what piercings I had. All were hidden or hide-able. Like a septum piercing but flipped up, nape piercing (back of neck, not nipple!) hiding under my long hair! I loved them all, but unfortunately took pretty much all of them out when I became religious :(
3. I used to have a "mini zoo" in my house as a child
I am quite an animal lover, and growing up, my dad was as well. We didn't have a massive house, but we had a big balcony. At certain points, we had 5 dogs, 6 puppies, 2 cats, a few fish tanks, tortoises, chinchillas, snakes, salamanders, some type of birds, guinea pigs, hedgehogs, I'm sure there was more.
You can get quite a lot of types of exotic animals in Hong Kong (where I was born and raised), or even smuggle it in from China. Really unethical shit, but things were obviously different back then (they used to sell lions in Harrods!), and it did make my childhood fun.
 

Expectations about Krakow and Steemfest

I don't know much about Krakow other than it being a beautiful place. But I love flying and being on a plane, so anything after that will be amazing either way. It will be so nice to soak in the culture and just be. I became a parent quite young, so hardly had the chance to travel alone as an adult, and I love travelling, so any chance to do it myself is highly treasured!!
I have a lot to look forward to to be honest, I will be getting ME time, as in child free time. For 5 WHOLE NIGHTS, I'll have my own bed, I can eat/cook whatever I want for myself and eat in my own time (and with both hands!!), I can have uninterrupted conversations, I can sleep in as late as I want. Most parents will agree how precious and absolutely recharging this can be.
For Steemfest, I want to meet lots of awesome people and learn about all the projects and communities I haven't had the chance to know about yet. There are a few people I can't wait to meet in person for the first time, and a few I've met and can't wait to see and party with again. I expect to leave with at least a handful more new friends, especially after a few drinks, etc ;)
 

Funding

When the Steemfest location was announced, I was super super glad it'll be at a place that will be cheap to fly to from London. Money's not great at the mo, with the crypto market being so bearish, so it would have been a definitely no, if the flights weren't affordable. I got my flight tickets pretty soon after the announcement, because I knew it would be the first big step to me committing to going.
When the Steemfest tickets were announced though... yea it almost changed everything! I delayed and delayed it until a day before the price increase. And only because I have a big birthday coming up, very soon in fact, I was able to pull some strings and make my Steemfest ticket my birthday gift from some family members hehehe! I am definitely resourceful when I want something ;) So Steemfest 3 is now essentially my Birthday trip, which is perfect really.
 

After Hours and Free Time

So what will I be doing during the free time???

Definitely chill, chat and connect with my fave Steemians.

Definitely make new friends

Definitely some touristy shit, because I wouldn't waste this chance of being in Krakow.

Definitely try out all the best foods there, because how can I not!

Definitely have some much much needed alone time to think, reflect and just be.

And definitely, because this is now essentially my birthday trip and it's a big birthday too, will have to celebrate at some point ;)

If you read all of this, thank you and I can't wait to meet you!! I am super excited but have to contain it to get through this last month and the million things needed done.

Catch the rest of you at your #roadtosteemfest posts :)

(This is my first time using Steempress, hope it posts smoothly!)

Much Love from Red


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://redrica.com/2018/10/05/road-to-steemfest-playing-catch-up-after-hours-and-free-time/
Sort:  

Super religious, semi goth, body piercing, animal keeping young mom! I LOVE this. You all are going to have so much fun. So excited the stars aligned for you to go. Have the best time!

Hahaha thanks lovely! Indeed amazing that the stars aligned for me to go <3 Hope to meet you one day!!

Finally you decided to join us! Hahaha this a refreshing read, I like the way you describe yourself :))

See you in Poland, I hope the birthday cake is good :P

Hehe yes thanks for being patient :P

Hope to have a birthday drink or two with you! I'd love to join in on the Poker too, haven't played in ages, but apparently I'm pretty good ;)

Well that was an interesting and fun read @redrica. So much I didn't know about you and so many questions now. 😂

Hahaha well we'll have all the time at Steemfest ;)

Have you done any of these #roadtosteemfest posts? You should!

we'll have all the time at Steemfest

That's what I was thinking @redrica. I can't wait to hear more of your story. 😁

I haven't done any road to steemfest posts. I'm not sure when I'll have the time being somewhat busy with telling my Gozo trip story and inktober. And . . . now it's the weekend. 😂

Have a fun one. 😍

Hello @redrica, I learned quite a lot interesting facts about you, lol! See you at Steemfest 3!

Hahaha I'm sure you have a few interesting facts you could share with us too ;) Can't wait for SF3!!

It was meant to be! Look forward to seeing you out there too. :)

Only 1 month left to go!!! :D

Good to know you a bit better. See you at Steemfest!

See you there :)

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.250 which ranks you at #2610 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 43 places in the last three days (old rank 2653).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16