You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DILEMMA - Fiction vs. non-fiction?? ...Am I prisoner and slave of my own brain ??

in #blog6 years ago

I've thought about this as well. Recently i wrote a post were i described why as a society we have an unhealthy addiction to information. In that regard, i can see your point.

What i've tried to do, is eliminate the regurgitated content. For example, do i REALLY need to read 12 books to understand stoicism? No. I need one or two and then i should be able to produce novel thoughts on te subject and most importantly apply what i've learned.

Fiction is another thing. It's not about information, that are either good or bad. It's more subjective. Harry Potter? Mediocre for some, awesome for others. Reading fiction is like schrodinger's cat, you can't know if a book is good until you finish it (or reach the middle at least. I am looking at you Dark Tower).

Anyway, hope I helped. Cheers!

Sort:  

Hmm I felt your post was more about the declining quality of news in general rather than our addiction on info....but was interesting regardless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51