Update On Some Neighborhood Acquaintances: Crow Coaxing

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

A few months ago I posted about crows (ok, so I'm pretty sure mine are ravens, not crows, so I'm just gonna call them corvids...sue me) because I planned to try building friendly terms with one or two of them in my area. Since then, I've had a bit of progress. They're very cautious, neophobic animals, even more than your average wild critter. Going into it with this awareness, I don't expect much for a while.

Still, the mated pair who seem to have monopolized a few blocks around the house as their preferred haunt have definitely come to recognize me. Corvids are good at that anyway, but they don't fly away usually when I approach to drop off a small snack.

They also seem to recognize a sound I reserve for these occasions. Nothing fancy, I just click three or four times every five or six seconds. Corvids have general patterns they follow with their calls. A total lack of rhythm and structured repetition tends to be negative, connotating danger or some turmoil in the area. Controlled rounds of a sound repeated at intervals are much more relaxed and commonplace, to signify normality. That's the impression researchers have gotten from observation, at least.

I put just a few pieces of crow-safe food in a particular place where they know to expect a lumbering giant to visit. There's a fence post with nothing attached next to a power pole/street light where they like to rest sometimes, in full view of most of their favorite area. I drop the snack atop the relative safety of the post, which is about seven feet high to prevent some scavenger interference and predator threats.

Then I walk away.


==============================================================


Here's a sample of what I've listened to as I write, to share a bit of fun.

I vaguely recall encountering this band's music in the past, but this song makes me think I'll be hearing much more of them.
CHVRCHES - Leave A Trace

Parov Stelar - Booty Swing


==============================================================


((I claim neither credit nor ownership of the above quotes, images or videos.))

For a closer look at what I'm about, the cause we serve, or just to learn something you might not find elsewhere, please examine these links:

(You may want to start here...)
https://Ra-El.org/

(For a broad overview of various important topics)
https://sanctuaryinterfaith.org/

(For a closer look at key developments and prophetic news)
https://armageddonbroadcastnetwork.tv/

(For constant updates on all relevant topics, news from RayEl's Imperial Regent, Angelus Domini, and to speak with RayEl's clergy on the less-tempered-with VK platform)
https://vk.com/congregation_of_lord_rayel/

(For constant updates on all relevant topics, news from RayEl's Imperial Regent, Angelus Domini, and to speak with RayEl's clergy on Facebook)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ICoLR/

To donate to the Lord's Templar Commandery directly, please go to:
Ra-El.org/donations.html

To donate to The Ecumenical Order of Christ via the Prime Cleric, please use:
[email protected]


==============================================================


Sort:  

Connecting with all life forms .. now that is talent .. it is a good desire and talent

I see them all around. They are very interesting to be sure!

You ever wonder if they're actually just people in disguise??

I never pay much attention to these birds, maybe I should

Hehe, we've got the polite couple over here.

Interesting hobby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82