Snapping My FunksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I was asked how I deal with emotional pain. The answers are not always this simple, but in many cases, this is the method I apply.

I find that putting it in perspective is the best start, so I try to have the truest or most useful perspective on it. Then, I let time do some work, because I may still need to cool down or find the next moment of joy. Humor helps a little.

If it is something that does not go away so easily, or stemming from issues I cannot resolve, it's different. I may have an undercurrent of anger or bleakness for a longer period of time. Eventually, I decide that I am absolutely sick of feeling that way. Instead of letting my anger continue to justify itself upon something I cannot change, I direct my anger at my anger itself or whatever aspect of my own choices has lead to this. I remind myself that I do not want to feel like the bottom of someone's shoe, so screw that! I have better ways to waste my time. I take it's fangs away, so to speak, and the venom stops flowing.

It is important to not allow my internal battles to reach others. It is good to ask for help, or fellowship, but one must put themselves in a mindset to not bring those very loved ones down as they offer their kindness to lift us up. Keep control of your tongue. As challenging as that may be, any and all restraint is better than a lapse of it and adding to your reasons to feel like crap.

As a servant of Christ, the lessons he offers usually factors into my thought process. More so, his example guides me. Would the Lord allow himself to be ruled by his own emotions, or would they obey him? True, he did not always feel joy and bliss, but he never stayed down long. I think the longest was three days, actually. Putting his struggles -which continue today- into my perspective, I realize that I'm allowing my mindset to resemble a petulant child when there are bigger concerns to address, and bigger hopes.


Cross Maltese.png

((I claim neither credit nor ownership of the above image.))

For a closer look at what I'm about, the cause we serve, or just to learn something you might not find elsewhere, check out these links:
https://Ra-El.org/
https://sanctuaryinterfaith.org/
https://armageddonbroadcastnetwork.tv/
https://vk.com/congregation_of_lord_rayel/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ICoLR/

Sort:  

This helps me a lot brother thanks for sharing this <3 I needed it :)

I really appreciate this article. As you know and some others do as well, I have issues with emotional pain and anger. My dad was always that way too and I guess I got it from him. Though I strived and told myself I would never be like what I seen him do when I was young. I find that I slip and have been slipping more and more recently. I am letting them get the better of me, and even though I am trying my hardest to control them it does get strenuous.

Thank you for sharing because this is quite useful as we all have our moments. Humor certainly always helps me, and the pragmatic approach is ideal. The Lord certainly does help put it all into greater perspective that we can learn and grow from! Great job!

We can be our own worst enemies. We make our own Hell on earth when we fall into these moments because it can often be a thing we can't escape so easily. Some people get stuck in there. To be a captive of a shattered mind can be terrifying, but we have a slight advantage working with the Lord and all ;)

take a walk, have a good cry, seek to understand and know many others are looking to the stars and asking these same question. Hence we should reach out to them ..there is healing in that

Ephesians 4:26 ►
"In your anger do not sin": Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry,

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @rasgriz311! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50