You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language blog #001 or : How and Why I am trying to learn 6 Languages at once

in #blog6 years ago

Translating music lyrics and watching subtitled series is my main method of immersion(until I start traveling again). I always preferred subtitled movies to dubbed ones. I had not yet come across 'Disculpa' only Lo siento, already learning something new :) The reason for having okay in the list is to differentiate between to formal and informal ways of saying yes. It also takes some experimentation with google translate to find words, for example google translates YES as 'si', OK as 'De acuerdo' and OKAY as 'bueno'
similar issues translating thanks vs thankyou. This is one of the things I have learned as a result of translating multiple languages at once, don't trust google :) as always gracias por el apoyo

Sort:  

I always wondered a few things with Ok/Okay. In Spanish we commonly use it as "ok" and it's to agree in something, like saying "de acuerdo" (agree), but in English is used as "okay" and it's to agree with something and also when someone asks you how are you, you can reply with okay as fine.

As for the story behind the word, once (when I didn’t want to know everything) I read that O.K. came to existence because during war times if the trope came back to the base without any death they wrote on a board 0.K. meaning 0 Kills, this morning I decided to check and… IT WAS ALL LIES!!! I lived in ignorance for many years!!! Good that I never repeated that information to someone else.

And yes, you are right, don't trust in Google, it lies.

De nada ¡Siempre a la orden! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55