[Ramengirl Magazine Vol.147] Grown-ups Like Numbers🌟 | Ramengirl🍜

in #blog6 years ago

[EN]

Grown-ups Like Numbers




Hey guys! Recently one of my friends told me ​the phrase in the book that he recently read. I've read this book a couple of times in my life, but it felt so much different when I read after became an adult than I read it when I was a kid. Guess what this book is? Yes, it's the Little Price. I'm sure that there is a lot of people on Steemit has the same problem with me, so I decided to share the quote with you.


Grown-ups like numbers.

When you tell them about a new friend, they never ask questions about what really matters.

They never ask: ‘What does his voice sound like?’ ‘What games does he like best?’ ‘Does he collect butterflies?’

They ask: ‘How old is he?’ ‘How many brothers does he have?’ ‘How much does he weigh?’ ‘How much money does he have?’ Only then do they think they know him.



If you tell grown-ups, ‘I saw a beautiful red brick house, with geraniums at the windows and doves at the roof…,’ they won’t be able to imagine such a house. You have to tell them, ‘I saw a house worth a thousand francs.’ Then they exclaim, ‘What a pretty house!

-Little Prince-



 Actually, I have a lot of headaches​ these days. If I don't take a painkiller​ the pain doesn't go away for 2-3 days. So I always have to keep the Advil at home. I think this is because I don’t leave my computer and my phone to check the daily new information and the market price all day.

 After reading this phrase​, I realized how much time I spending in numbers. I woke up in the morning and starts the day by checking what day it was, what time it is, how many emails I received, market cap, and so on. It's not weird why I getting so much headache lol.

 When you think about the stresses you get, there are many things related to numbers. For example...



Money



Age



Weight



Time



Maerket Price


050718_EC_numbers_feat.jpg


 Hmmm....

 Of course, Steemit is not an exception. I frequently checking how many comments/votes I've received, how much rewards I got, how many followers I have at this moment, what is my reputation and so on! Was I ignoring the value of Steemit and focused on numbers too much?

 Of course, it's hard to ignore all these numbers in life. But sometimes on a stressful day, I need to stop thinking about these numbers that put pressure on us and take time to focus on the fundamental of life, such as how important the people are around me, how much happiness the warm sunshine and the cool wind bring it to me, etc. I hope you guys give it a try😊 Thanks for reading!


DQmVXCCdPKh6T2D2uXXQz2JjHbYHeotjR1W1ALyW3GvhUnd.png

Sort:  

I never realized that but I'm the same way. I wake up, count how many seconds I can stretch, check my bank account, emails, etc. Life of a businessman...
Ironically, I live near a beautiful red brick house.

I love this book so much! I think, what you are telling all it's true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46