The non-posting Syndrome

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Do you see that footsprint? that's me coming back to the desert (my blog).


It's been more than 2 weeks since I decided to take a break and not make more posts on Steemit, other than making comments and reesteming. I haven't been feeling good those last 3 weeks, neither physical nor emotionally and posting a non-quality content is something I don't really want to do. So, I took the decision of working in other projects and had a break from Steemit for a while.

However, I don't want to abandon my blog. That is why I'm going to try to keep it up-to-date.

The main reasons of me vanishing into the shadows of nothingness (this sounds deeper than the Mariana Trench), are the lack of motivation and ideas.

Motivation: Because I would spent 3-4 making a single post just to get a few upvotes, (other than from the bots I bought).

Lack of ideas: Ideas are just not dawning on me at the moment, and if a curious subject comes to my mind I don't know how to explain it and end up doing nothing.

That's why I decided to change some things in my blog


I have been talking about science since I joined Steemit, and that's not something I'm going to stop doing, however, given the difficulty or making these kind of articles, I will just write about science once in a while, and post other stuff that are more easy to make: My hobbies, my passions, philosophy, politics, games, travel, pictures, etc. (Maybe memes, lol)

Things I'm planning to change

1) Variety of posts:

As I said, writing about science is something that requires a lot of research, I will make other kind of posts to make this more easy. When I post a science post it has to be a quality post. As said above, I would like to post about different subjects, and maybe fictional stories too.

2) Fixing my broken English:

This is one of my biggest obstacles, I'ts been almost two years since I started learning English and I can't complain of the results, it could be better though.
I like to write in English because the subjects I talk about, normally are not taken into account in the Spanish community (truth be told) and honestly I prefer to write in a foreign language so I can learn more while I'm writing. I work on my English when I have some spare time, my work and Steemit take most of my time, but I'm practicing at least 10 minutes a day.

3) Articles in Spanish and Spanish lessons:

As I said, sometimes, science doesn't get rewarded in the Spanish language, but as I'm going to talk about other subjects too, I think it will be worth to translate some of the articles I make in English. I will continue making Spanish lessons, and this time I will try to post one Spanish lesson a week as minimum.

4) Posting more about my personal life:

I often don't share who I am and what I do, but now I will try to share more "personal" things when I have the opportunity to do it :)

5) Getting a personal "logo":

This is something that is really missing in my blog, a personal logo or banner to use as a personal sign at the end of my posts. I will try to create something decent, otherwise I will get a graphic designer make one for me, aesthetics are very important!

6) A break from bid-bots:

Bots are really useful tools when it comes to increasing your SP and reaching more audience, (using them is badly seen by some users tho), but I want to see the real potential of the posts I make and see what happens if I don't use them. Without pumping up my posts it's very likely I don't receive many votes, but I think it's worth to give it a try and do this experiment (This doesn't mean I will not use bots in the future).

Lol, I really wanted to make a meme for this post :D

This was specially written to recover from my non-posting streak and cure my non-posting syndrome,it's not a serious or quality post. Thank you for reading :)

All images were stolen from Maxpixel (a free photo source) : 1, 2,3.

Sort:  

Hey. Nice to see you. I understand the need to take a break. I think doing personal blog posts helped me a lot in the early days. The way to be successful on Steemit is to make friends, be memorable, and to write content that reaches a larger audience. I do a lot of education posts but not as many of my followers will comment on them like they do personal posts. It takes time to make friends and a name for yourself here. Don't get discouraged by the lack of votes in the beginning. Write what you enjoy, make friends, and eventually you'll be successful.

Thank you for your encouraging words and advises, they are of great help for me!

Hey, it's great to see you! I have to say that I too caught up with that syndrome. Now I blame myself for being lazy. I was wasting time which I can never regain. You might be feeling the same way.

I'd love to see your new posts and new style. I know they'll be fascinating read cuz you have a great passion. Blogging about personal life cool. They're easy to write people love to hear others experiences. So I wish good luck in the future, see you around ^^

You are right! we can't recover the lost time but we can do something about the present, t hank you very much for your words!

Funny you. Nice you are back, but I've been seeing you play chess in steem-blitz!

Yes, like I said I've been doing other activities here on Steemit apart from posting.
The chess tournament is a great activity that @schamangerbert has been doing, I really enjoy it and ararely miss a tournament :D! greetings

Congratulations @ralk98! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58