My impressions of Steemit

in #blog6 years ago

Over the last two months, I have been learning about Steemit. At first, I saw it as a blog where people post poems, essays, reflective thoughts, etc.

Now, I see Steemit as a pictorial blog and vlog. It seems that the people who do well here post lots of pics and video links. I seldom see thought pieces that challenge me to reflect or even think more than 2 minutes after seeing the post.

Hopefully, my posts leave a longer than a 2-minute reflection. Please direct me to thought pieces. Thanks

Sort:  

I don't really know the purpose of Steemit. It seems like a Facebook clone with a heavy cryptocurrency influence. I think it has a much cleaner and simpler interface than Facebook and it's not overrun (yet) with corporate advertising. I personally have my doubts that cryptocurrencies right now are anything but a means for an opportunistic few to scam the gullible.

That said, I enjoy reading your posts and hearing your thoughts. You are very clear and concise. Generally I find myself agreeing with what you've said and you've said it so well that I don't feel like my response would add to the discussion.

I can definitely say I've spent more than 2 minutes thinking about something you've posted. :)

Thanks guyincawgnito, I am with you as it relates to the cryptocurrency influence. After years of teaching, many students have encouraged me to blog. This is why I am on steemit.

To me, even if one agrees and doesn't want to add to the discussion I would appreciate upvotes. At least this indicates at least someone found the essay interesting.

I also look at the number of views. Many times it is less than 10 people who have clicked on the essay. To say, my viewership is low would be an understatement.

When I post on Linkedin I normally get hundreds of clicks.

Going forward, I am hoping for more clicks. Thanks for your support. Do feel free to repost my posts. Do have a splendid day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44