You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Paranormal Experiences The Night My Kids Dad Passed Away

in #blog7 years ago

@debralee, I'm not sure what to say about your experience.

I'm a science-guy and what you described contradicts scientific explanation. But, as a science-guy, I'm also acutely aware of the many things that science can't explain, including some pretty basic stuff, such as "what is life" or "what is conscientiousness" ... and it's not for a lack of trying.

Indeed, a good many things science says it can explain are undoubtedly incorrect. Science concocted "dark energy" and "dark matter" (roughly 95% of the universe) to explain the rotation of galaxies and the increasing acceleration of the universe's expansion. This was necessary because the alternative would have been to call into question the validity of some of the most sacred beliefs in physics, most having originated for physics' god-man, Albert Einstein.

It has always struck me as ironic how some scientists deride people who believe in miracles in one breath, but then go on to talk about their belief in 'singularities' in the next (like the 'Big Bang' and 'Black Holes'). Both defy the laws of physics as we know them, neither can be subjected to replication in a laboratory ... and both require 'faith' - the belief in something you cannot prove.

Quantum physics embraces a whole number of ideas that might be best be described as 'magic.'

Personally, the way I handle such issues is to put them in an 'agnostic box' ... neither believing in them, nor believing against them ... until such time as I obtain sufficient evidence to rationally justify belief in one or the other. A lot of people are uncomfortable with agnosticism, even perturbed by it, because they think it's an intellectual cop out. I think it's simply admitting 'I don't know' ... and that admission, is what drives scientific inquiry.

If nothing else, science says that people who can embrace a bit of mystery tend to be happier than those who can't. Try to rationally explain ... love.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your reply. I like that you choose to "neither believing in them, nor believing against them". Although, I would respect your beliefs no matter what they were. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65