This picture of my grandparents sent us on a journey to the Natural Bridge of Virginia.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I had seen this photograph on the wall at my grandparents house my whole life. For some reason it had never resonated with me when I was younger. But, now that my grandfather has passed and my 92 year old grandmother's health is failing, I have a renewed interest.

Untitled collage_result.jpg

I had asked family members where this photo was taken. "That's the natural bridge of Virginia" was the response. After the realization that it was only 2 hours away, @qberryfarms and I decided to head there to get photographs in the same spot my grandparents stood with their best friends nearly 50 years earlier. (That's them on the left)

Honestly, we didn't expect much, but were pleasantly suprised in several ways. First, the bridge itself really is a spectacular site to see, but its history is even more interesting. Add to that the natural beauty of the area, a cave, lots of wildlife and an ancient Native American village found at the site and rebuilt and it's a not to miss stop for any road trip through the area. If you have kids, there is also a drive through zoo nearby where you can feed the animals from your car.

IMG_20170322_105020_result.jpg
Blue Heron spotted at the creek

It's just a short hike from the parking lot and visitors center down to the main park area. The first thing you notice is the scale of the bridge. It seems so much larger in life than in photographs. It's over 200 ft tall. The trail follows the creek through the park past an old cave that was used in the civil war to collect bat guano for the manufacturing of gun powder. At the end of the trail you are gifted with a beautiful view of the falls as well.

IMG_20170322_105346.jpg
River otter we enjoyed watching for quite a while

Short video of the river otter

HISTORY

This entire area was once owned by Thomas Jefferson. He purchased the 154 acres from King George III in 1774 for 20 shillings! He described it as "the most sublime of natures works" and built a cabin on the property with an extra room for guests he would bring to the area. There were many who would become very famous and even become future presidents that he brought to this spot.

It was one of the most popular tourist attractions in America in the 18th and 19th centuries. People from all over Europe came to visit during these times. Herman Mellville even mentioned it in his book "Moby Dick"! Also, a young George Washington came to the site in 1750 to survey the site. He left his initials carved in the rock 23 feed above the ground.

The history of this site goes back several hundred years farther.

The Natural Bridge was a sacred site of the Native American Monacan tribe, who believed it to be the site of a major victory over pursuing Powhatans centuries before the arrival of Europeans in Virginia.
Source


This photo of The Natural Bridge of Virginia is courtesy of TripAdvisor

There is also a Monacan Village Living History exhibit on the site which takes you back over 300 years to a time when the Monacan's saw this as a sacred site. You can learn about Captain John Smith who traveled through Monacan country and met with their most powerful tribes and documented their history in this area.
Later in the 50's this site saw a large resurgence as America took a fancy to road trips all over the country to visit attractions. It eventually became a state park and now has some historic hotels nearby.

20150328_1547_result.jpg
My grandparents on the left in the early 50's

Conclusion

I highly recommend a visit if you are in the area, although I probably wouldn't plan a long trip for this specific purpose. However, Roanoke and Lexington VA are nearby and those are great cities to check out with plenty to keep you busy.
In the end I got more than I expected which was just a simple picture with my wife and standing where my grandparents long before they were even parents.

20150328_154457_result.jpg
The picture that started our journey

IMG_20170322_101151_result.jpg
A picture from the other side. There is actually a road on top and you'd never know you were driving over this place

IMG_20170322_104148_result.jpg
Waterfall at the end of the trail


Natural Bridge, Virginia, oil on canvas, David Johnson, 1860.
I love this painting Source


Hope you enjoyed this trip with us friends. Until next time....


Sort:  

Love this story! Our family is very into the old photos and stories and my sister has tracked down a lot of the places and people. Very cool reading of your travel to the past.

Thank you. I have some pictures of my grandfather during WWII. I think it would be so neat to go and visit those spots in Europe.

I truly love my home state.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 15 SBD worth and should receive 63 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Such a beautiful area and great shots so cool it was so close and you could visit the site of the photo with your grandparents that is awesome Cool

Thank you very much. As great as this place was, it's hard to imagine that it used to be listed with Niagara Falls as the two greatest sites in America to see.

really
I had never heard of it before

I think most people probably haven't. It hasn't been a big destination since the 50's outside of this area. In the 1800 and early 1900's people from all over Europe came here to see it. Pretty amazing history to it.

I would love be to see it someday like be natural landmarks like that

The arch looks so beautiful! I think what you did was amazing, just motivated me to do the same for my grandmom. Might be flicking through our family album soon :D

Awesome, that's great to hear. I hope you do! Thanks.

What a lovely trip to take - the river otter was very cute. I bet you watched it for quite a long time :) I also loved the painting of the bridge :)

Thank you. We had a great time just sitting on the bank watching the animals. I'll be looking for a print of that painting now.

That's so cool that you're getting a print :)

The arch and the surrounding nature are beautiful! It was a nice way to pay respect to your grandfather and show how much you cared.

Glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate your comment. He was a great man and WWII veteran.

that's a beautiful place and so lovely of you to take yourselves there and somehow bring back the memories of your grandparents to live. ;)

Thanks, I really appreciate it.

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Amazing place sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47