The time that I stopped a shoplifter

in #blog4 years ago

Alright, after a long period of inactivity on here I've decided I'm going to try something new; blogging. (Which I found out today is actually a shortened version of "web log") I'm not normally the type to start ranting about my life, but I think that between my bad memory, and the fact that blogging is more substantial content than stolen memes, I think this could turn out to be a good thing for both me and my mostly bot followers.

So to set the scene, this was in December last year. I was with my mum and two of my brothers heading from Lild to B&M and my mum mentioned how she wanted to have a three bird roast this year but she didn't see any in Lidl. I responded that I had seen one before, and if she sent the money to my bank I'd go back and get it for her. She agreed, so I turned around and strolled back towards Lidl.

Suddenly, I noticed that a man was being chased by a store employee across the car pack, which was surrounded by a fence that I was on the other side of. I saw that he was running towards a bush which was known for having a hole in the fence and was used as a short cut. It was sealed off at some point, but I realised that it must have been reopened if that's where he was running. So with that in mind, I started running towards the other side of the short cut to intercept the criminal. As I mentioned before, I have a bad memory, but from what I remember the man was middle-aged and a fair bit taller than my 5'9" self. So I ended up grabbing onto the man as he runs out of the hole, and he winds up dragging my 70KG body along while I weigh him down enough to let the worker catch up. But, before the employee can get there, the man manages to drag us both into the busy roundabout. It's not London busy, but it's busy enough that there were cars on it at the same time as we were. Once the employee grabbed the man, we all got off the road and back on the pavement.

The employee quipped "unlucky" to the thief, and took him back the way the came. I didn't get any rewards, besides the three bird roast winding up being £5 cheaper than tagged, so I ended up getting a fiver as I asked my mum for the money that I thought it costed. I guess you could call that a karmic reward.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pyromaniac22! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70