JELLOF RICE

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Jellof rice is widely cooked rice especially in my country Nigeria. When I was small, I really didn’t like jellof rice because of the mentality I had about it while growing up, I actually felt it was a poor man’s food because my mum (bless her soul) usually prepares it whenever she is trying to make do with what she had in the kitchen. Another thing that made me not to like jellof rice when I was small was because each time I eat it, I scratch my eyes (weird right I know). But when I started growing up I fell in love with jellof rice especially when its cooked with beans its simply amaze balls
Here am going to talk about how to make jellof rice in Nigeria way
INGREDIENTS
TOMATOES (either tin /fresh tomatoes)
GROUNDNUT OIL
ONIONS (1 bulb if you aren’t a lover of onions and 2 bulbs if you really love onions)
PEPPER (pepper is actually the spice of jellof rice because without it it’s like cooking JELL….. with the OF missing
CURRY
THYME
SALT
MAGGI
MEAT/FISH/CHICKEN (anyone you prefer)
And of course not forgetting your raw rice
PROCEDURES
• Wash your rice and parboil the rice
• Prepare your meat/fish/chicken stock
• When the rice is half done, you put it down from the fire and wash it for the second time, the you wash it for the second time and leave it.
• Get a clean pot pour in some groundnut oil
• Put your sliced onion then you pour in your grounded tomato paste the start frying, the reason why the paste is being fried is to remove the bitter taste of the tomatoes. To know if the tomatoes have really fried, at a point the oil used in frying the paste would start separating itself from the tomatoes paste (ie the oil would be afloat) the you will know the paste is done
• Pour in the meet/fish/chicken sauce into the fried tomatoe paste then thirst if everything is in equal proportion.
• Pour the parboiled rice into the stew then turn, when its turned evenly
• Pour small quantity of water then allow it to cook to enable the water dry up
Then you have your jellof rice
I hope this post have been helpful, if you like this post please upvote, resteem and follow me and I would surely follow back.
if you have any questions you can ask and I would make sure I answer to the best of my knowledge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57