Blog Entry #3 - Buying/dealing with cryptocurrency PART 1

in #blog7 years ago
Music: College, Electric Youth - A Real Hero

Hello Steemians,

I've been dealing cryptocurrency for a month now and I've learnt a LOT. I'm by no means an expert and any advice you might have would be greatly appreciated. Below is Part 1 of my journey.

Where did I begin?

As with many great ideas, it started in a Pub. I was in business trip with my boss (Andy) and, after a long day at work we sat in the pub with frosty beer in front of us. Andy and I were talking but every now and then he'd stop mid sentence and open his phone. I didn't think much of it at first but after the 5th time I decided to ask him about it:


Me:

Me: "Work emails?"

Andy:

"No, just looking at my Coinbase account - I think Litecoin is going to shoot up."

I've heard of Bitcoin on the news but not Litecoin or Coinbase so, I asked him more about it:


Me:

"Oh, what's that then? Actually how much is it worth?" 

I asked with a grin on my face. It was then he told me about cryptocurrency in all its glory - Satoshi, Blockchain MT. Gox and all. I was captivated. I didn't know much about it then (I still don't!) but I thought I'd jump straight in. 


I started by downloading the Coinbase Application. I went through the arduous process of verification (you'll go through a lot of these!)  and bought my first Bitcoin and Litecoin (Okay, fractions of them). I was a little surprised by the fees that Coinbase charged but didn't think too much of it.


That night, I lay in bed at the hotel room and opened up Coinbase. Looking at my original balance, it increased - a little bit - but nonetheless increased. I bought something a few hours ago and it somehow - through the magic of whatever it was - increased in value. I stayed up the rest of the night looking at the graphs - up and down, up and down - reds there greens here. 


I woke up the next day and fumbled for my mobile phone. The glade made me squint. I thumbed the Coinbase App. The figure was less than what I originally put in. 


"The hell?"  I muttered. 


This was going to be my first loss of many.


 Disclaimer:

  • I do not provide investment advice and I am not a qualified licensed investment advisor. I am an investor.
  • All information found above should not be construed as personal investment advice. While the information provided is believed to be accurate, it may include errors or inaccuracies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45