19# I can't get you outta my head....the truth about Earworms.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

 Hiya Steemians, we are still keeping it back2basics today as I thought we could talk about earworms... 


 I woke up this morning and bam! Next thing that I know is that an annoying fragment of a tune on a loop has lodged itself in my brain, yikes, I have an earworm, how frustrating. To make things worse, I have had an earworm every day for days now. So annoying. 

Earworms are those song fragments that get stuck in our heads on a loop, that seem near impossible to stop, but there is hope, the trick is to distract yourself with a task that takes your mind off it. 

Dr Vicky Williamson, a music psychologist at Goldsmiths, University of London, has been studying earworms and she has identified a number events that can trigger these songs to intrude on our every day lives, including repeated exposure to a piece of music, recent exposure to the music, seeing lyrics from the song, moments of stress and allowing your mind to wander. I can definitely relate to letting my mind wander though :) 

 Here's a top 5 methods to rid yourself of earworms:  

1.  Ring a friend- the most fun way is to distract yourself by ringing a friend. 

2.  5 letter anagrams- offer your brain something that is challenging and fun, can I suggest politicians names? 

3.  Sudoko- definitely some challenging fun with sudoko 

4.  Chewing gum- a physical thing that you can do to rid yourself of earworms is to chew gum. 

5.  Walking faster or slower than the tempo of the song. 

I hope that this list is helpful for you and I hope that you enjoyed reading this! 

Good-luck ridding yourself of earworms! 

Sort:  

nice idea

Thanks, earworms are very annoying and I thought that this would be a good thing to write about!

In fact thank you

In fact thank you

I play more music and draw harder 😆 or start singing til the kids join in our run screaming 😉

I'm with you ryivhnn
Play a different song. Invite a new worm in to play :-)

That's me - upstairs for dancing!

Woot woot! :)

hahaha

Nice idea......the pictures are beautiful

@polichick

Loved your post, very original and funny! Thanks for share with us ur research! @polichick

This is some terrific Community advice polichick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72