@polebird: ✨Chinese New Year weekend - Traditions and good food!✨

in #blog7 years ago

This past Friday was Chinese/Lunar New Year’s Day! I spent the majority of this weekend celebrating with my family. There are many traditions (some of which are specific to my family) and it is custom to exchange blessings to others to wish good fortune and health to each other. I thought it would be interesting, to share this celebration with you guys on Steemit some of our activities and traditions, for those of who are unfamiliar with Chinese New Year.

First of all, the color red is traditionally worn on New Year’s day to bring good luck.

2018 is year of the dog. The Chinese calendar follows the lunarsolar calendar which is why New Year’s day is celebrated during February instead of January 1st. I pulled Watson and Kylie’s outfits from the closet for them. :D

IMG_6159.jpg

My parents prepared little snacks in this musical tray. My mom pulls this contraption out every year, haha and fills it with nuts, chocolates, and little goodies to munch on. When you twist the cups, it spins and sings a traditional New Year’s song.

7651055264_IMG_1813.jpg

We also had some tea as we were exchanging wishes and hopes for each other.

7651055264_IMG_1817.jpg

We celebrated over lunch with my parents at a Chinese restaurant in town. I love the dumplings they have there. The dumplings have a little bit of soup inside, and are just so tasty with vinegar/soy sauce mix for a dipper.

7651055264_IMG_1827.jpg

The dumplings are made fresh at the restaurant.

7651055264_IMG_1825.jpg

We also had ordered a course of fish. Traditionally, fish is chosen as part of the New Year’s meal as luck for abundance and prosperity.

7651055264_IMG_1828.jpg

My most favorite thing to eat though, is the green onion pancakes. Very crisp and delicious! I actually ate it before I snapped a photo of it, sorry! :(

Thanks for reading my friends and joining me today to celebrate Chinese New Year.

May your 2018 be full of happiness, laughter, and good health – oh and steem to the moon! :D

jbf8pc3qlvqhj7pxe0ou.jpg

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

OOoo We celebrated in Korea too by setting off fireworks! :)

oh yay!! that sounds like fun too :D

ooohh DUMPLINGS! :)

super tastyyyy!

Happy New year.

Do have a prosperous New Year!

thank you my friend!! :) happy new year!

It is fun to be able to gather and celebrate with family beloved family. Thank you for sharing your happiness and hopefully more success in the future @polebird. 😊

thank you so much!! :) glad you stopped by!

You are welcome my friend. I am very happy to be friends with you. 😊

happy new year (it's been a while though) haha, all great dishes you had to eat :) it's been a while since I have gone for chinese food, though the more people you go with the better

haha it's only been a couple of days for the chinese new years :) yeah definitely so, family style rocks! Get a taste of everything

yes! a little bit of this, a little bit of that :D

Thanks for sharing and Happy New Year! My wife and I fell in love with Chinese traditions this year when a couple whose wedding we were shooting in Singapore educated us about a few of them! Not sure why we love them so much, but they are just friggin fantastic! I guess it's because we just don't have those kinds of traditions ourselves!

happy new year! :) that's awesome to hear that you got to experience a bit first hand and loved it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70