My frustration with other sites

in #blog7 years ago

I am now on Twitter! But boy are they sly.

Header sunrise

Last week, I decided I should register my name on a few sites. I opened up an Instagram account, which I don't really plan to use and I opened up a Twitter account.

I went through account creation and activated my account through the link in my e-mail. While I was writing my first Tweet, the page suddenly reloaded and showed me my account was suspended.

Excuse me?

I hadn't done anything yet, except for writing a description and adding a profile picture. This page asked me to give them my phonenumber, so they could call me with an activation code.

Well I didn't want to share my phonenumber, so I set out to find another way to unlock my account which had done nothing wrong, except simply exisiting. After a long search, I found this contact form. I filled it out and received a confirmation e-mail saying that it might take a couple of days, before I get a response.

Fine, I could wait for a while. An hour or so after, I got the automatically generated e-mail that my account was suspended and I needed to give them my phonenumber. Other than that, I have not received anything so far.

I'm patient. I'll wait. You won't win!

So yesterday, I finally gave in and gave them my phonenumber. It is not ideal and I should not have given in, but there you go.

I also wanted to change my account name on Deviantart, but it requires a core membership. I don't want to buy that yet, so I'm stuck with the name I created years ago.

A couple of years ago, I started posting less on Deviantart, partly because I didn't take too many pictures at that time and partly because they screwed up the colors of every uploaded picture.

It's been a few years now and I found two pictures of our last vacation that I wanted to upload there. It seems the color problem is still there! So now I'm wondering what to do. Ignore Deviantart and find some other site that lets me sell prints through their own printing and shipping facilities (any suggestions on this?), or just accept a huge quality loss?

Okay, writing it down like that, ofcourse I won't accept a big quality loss! I think I did find a way to largly avoid it by using .png with certain settings, but I'm not sure what exactly those settings were. I also don't currently have Photoshop, which I used for said settings.

Flowers

Luckily, my foodblog is still working as intended and Wordpress has not failed me yet. This is why I decided I'd build up a new photo gallery there, aswell. See, my previous host stopped hosting free sites, so I've been without a photo gallery for about half a year now. I'm happy to start a new one now. I just need some time to fill it.

The only downside to a freely hosted Wordpress.com site is that I can't add paying adds to it. But so far, they don't generate a lot of public anyways. If I ever do get a stronger pressence online, I'll look into alternatives. For now, I'm glad to have a new place to share my photography. From this site, I can send traffic to my photo shop, which is Dutch, but has partial English translation for the most important parts. I can also send traffic to Deviantart, where I sell my prints aswell.

I will still have to check out where else to create an account to reserve my name. Which is also a frustrating thing, by the way: name reserving! I mean, I can't complain too much, because I'm doing this myself, but when I was looking for a good name for my photo gallery, every name I came up with was already taken! I had such awesome ideas too, like Illuminature or Camerascape. The most frustrating thing is when you find the name's been taken, but the site's not in use and the name's not visible in google, either. That just feels like a waste of a perfectly good name to me!

Anyway, so much for my frustrations for now. I'm glad Playful foodie was free and now I just need to make sure these names connect to me on most sites. I think View of Nature is an okay name too. I'll get used to that one!

Thanks for reading my frustrations. If you have any suggestions for good blog sites where you can host paid adds, let me know! Know of any sites where I can sell my prints and let them do the printing and shipping? Let me know aswell!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Photo gallery | Deviantart | Facebook | Twitter | Photo shop |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


My Deviantart image used as a header for my blog posts.
Other image from my Deviantart page.


Sort:  

Well there are always those sandwich boards.

Not sure if you can fit a whole post on there but there is only one way to find out.

Hmm, I'm sure that would draw some attention... what a great suggestion!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

great post keep up the good work. cant wait to here more. btw can u follow me thank you

great idea on setting up those other accounts, hope it helps to drive new people over here to steemit :)

Noooo, Steemit first! Just need to make some advertising and keep people from using my name ;-)

Oh well, if you say so lolsss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44