Good morning Steemit

in #blog7 years ago

The sushi was bad, but the music was great!

I finally got to see one of my all-time favorite bands live. If I had a bucketlist, this would be one thing done (though Poets of the Fall are still on there).

Yesterday, we had a nice little trip over to Utrecht, where we would be seeing Breaking Benjamin live. Now most of you will probably not know this, but the singer does not fly. The band is situated in the US, so that poses a problem for the fans in Europe. They've done this once before, but I completely missed it: He went on a cruise ship, so they could tour Europe. That was a year or two ago now. So when I saw a Facebook message telling me they're touring Europe again, I immediately bought two tickets. Lucky I saw it when I did, because not long after, the show was sold out.

IMG_20170822_144511.jpg

So off we went to Utrecht! To avoid traffic jams, we went before the full workforce would hit the roads, so we had to get dinner there aswell. I picked out a sushi restaurant that seemed to have nice things on their menu. The three desserts they showed looked quite tasty too!

Finding a parking garage was easier than we thought.

IMG_20170822_164308.jpg

You might remember our tiny vacation a couple of months ago, when we also visited Utrecht. I showed the same kind of views with you back then. This was on our way to the sushi restaurant. We found it easily. Yay, dinner!

IMG_20170822_165345.jpg

Doesn't this look good? They did their best to dress it up nicely.

IMG_20170822_165333.jpg

Most things on seperate plates.

IMG_20170822_165340.jpg

Now who the heck puts mayo on their flamed salmon I ask you? I order flamed salmon for the taste of, surprise, surprise, flamed salmon! None of this mayo madness please!

The first two I had, salmon/cream cheese and salmon/mango were okay. The salmon wasn't as tender as we were used to, but the taste was good. The mayo was inexcusable though. I tried it once, then tried to take most of it off of the second one. It was a shame.

Sadly, the other dishes did not improve. The eel still had too many small bones in it. Sure, I came across one or two in the restaurant in our city aswell sometimes, but this wasn't one or two. As my boyfriend said, "It was a mouth full of bones". He also told me the other salmon dishes weren't as tender as we were used to from our usual restaurants.

The chicken dishes, on the other hand, were perfectly fine. But you know, it's a sushi restaurant, so ideally (actually, normally), the sushi should be first priority.

The toilets weren't too ehm... clean... either. Men had no paper towels, women had too many (the bin was overflowing). It smelled horrible (though we can't fully blame a restaurant for one of their visitor's smells) and it was cramped.

Oh well, I wasn't about to let my entire meal get wasted. There was still dessert to come!

We asked about dessert. One of the three wasn't available. The other was... well, also unavailable. It was simply changed to something else. Bah, I wanted one that was unavailable. But the chocolate one was still available! That looked quite tasty on the picture aswell.

Please, Steemians, tell me, doesn't this look tasty?

It does, doesn't it?

Instead, I got a tiny piece of this:


(Source)

I'm sorry, that doesn't look anything like the picture! If I wanted dense, half dried up brownies, I would have made them myself and probably a better version too.

We spend less than an hour at this place and were both happy to be on the streets again. This was, by far, the worst sushi restaurant we have been to and not near worth our money. This again shows us how lucky we are with the great sushi restaurant in our city, which is Assen, by the way, if any Dutchy is interested. If you're used to Sumo in Utrecht, I highly recommend you try Assen (or any of the restaurants in Zwolle for that matter) instead. I promise you, you'll never want to visit Sumo again.

So that was a big disappointment. Luckily, we still had a concert to go to!

We walked over to the venue. Due to our swift visit to the restaurant, we were way too early, so after some protesting from my boyfriend, we sat on the floor like the rest of the crowd.

IMG_20170822_180238.jpg

After a long wait, we were allowed to enter. We went up to the balcony and secured ourselves a nice little spot there. Now all we had to do was wait!

IMG_20170822_190806.jpg
(Way too dark picture, yay!)

More on the concert later!

Have a good day!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

so yummy btw u are looking cool in car hope u enjoyed alot :) my friend

It's always a real big disappointment if the food in restaurant is bad. Or not even bad but.. average. Something you know is better in so many other restaurants or you could do better yourself.

You don't want to pay for half-assed cakes or salmon (in sushi), but get it good. Going to restaurant, at least not for me, is not only about getting stomach full but about good food and having a nice experience. I'm mad at the bad restaurants. Grr.

Yeah, it was a bad experience, but we don't have those often, so it's okay. We'll just never visit this place again! I wrote a few reviews to warn others that there's better out there :-)

It's good, at best they might see them and learn from the reviews :) In Finland we use quite little all these reviewing sites and apps, and neither do we give feedback in the restaurant itself.. so usually nobody will know what is bad, customers will only never come back :D

Exactly! I tend to check out reviews quite a bit, but didn't do that in this particular case. I rarely give reviews myself, but today I decided I'd make an exception. I also posted a good review on our own sushi place, because I figured they definitely deserve it!

My daughter likes Breaking Benjamin. I'm a bit surprised she didn't tell me about the band being in Europe. I envy you so much for going to a concert. Well, we've been to a few this year, but only in our town so I kinda miss being on the road...and all the excitement!

Yeah, they're in Europe right now! Already hit a couple of countries. I'm not sure how much longer they're touring here.

I don't go to concerts a lot anymore. The last one was a year ago, Alter Bridge. They're coming here again soon, but it's way too expensive and I don't love them that much to pay for such a ticket :-)

I like the fantasy fairs we have during summer, because there's quite a few bands playing on those fairs, so you get to see a few in a nice setting!

The mayo on sushi thing happens here a lot - I'm not a fan of mayo but especially not on sushi. It's usually mixed with sriacha on any rolls that are listed as 'spicy' - which is too bad, because I like spicy but not mayo.

Yeah, it's such a shame. It takes away from the good tastes of the fish :-(

having eels with their bones still in it are one of the worst thing ever! It's a shame that the sushi was not up to standard, many chefs are trying to add on a lot just to be trendy! Why the hell he put mayo?
That dessert was a real shame too!
Wondering how was your reactions with them when being served such food!

Yeah, it was a real shame! I really don't understand why people put mayo on a perfectly good fish, what a waste!

I'm quite a shy/timid girl, so I didn't really say anything about it. I did post some bad reviews today though. Best I could do :-)

Hahaha! You are same like me then, i just move on when something is not good, but will never go again!

Glad you had a great night and saw one of your favorite bands. I love Breaking Benjamin too and didn't know that the lead doesn't fly that's interesting. And sorry the sushi wasn't so good. I like the super dark picture at the end of you and your boyfriend looks very cool for setting the concert on. Seems like a amazing night.

Thank you! Yeah, he doesn't fly, so I was always very sad about that, knowing I'd never get to see my favorite band, unless I travel to the US. I'm glad he's okay with a cruiseship!

It was a great night, I'll post some concert pictures soon :-)

Awesome, cant wait to see them.

They're in my new post :-)
Sadly, we aren't allowed to bring good cameras into the venues here, so they're pretty bad quality.

Got totally ripped off on the peruvian chocolate cake lol. Having a sweet tooth myself, nothing hurts worst than a bad dessert. Big fan of Poets Of the Fall myself. Something about their song Desire really resonates. Here's to hoping listening to them live isn't on your bucket list for long. Thanks for sharing. :)

Gosh yes, it was such a let down! Especially after the not so awesome sushi...
Oh that's awesome! Have you seen them live yet?

You got my vote and a resteem :]

Aww that's so sweet, thank you!

Facilities and a bad restaurant meal menu, rewarded with satisfaction of a musical concert!! Interesting story and writing! Greeting

Thank you very much :-)

excelent post.... congtats 🍡🍡🍡🍡

Thank you very much :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30