It's here! It's finally here!

in #blog8 years ago

My delivery from the British corner shop arrived yesterday!

BCS0139ba8.jpg

So I have to tell you, I love mint. Especially minty chocolates. I've written about my love for mint on my blog, explaining that the Netherlands seem to hate mint. It was a whole rambling, which I'm not going to repeat here. The point here is that, in the Netherlands, we don't have many things with mint flavour. There's minty chocolates and in the last couple of years, people have really warmed up to the idea of minty tea.

However, there is no mint extract being sold anywhere.

I want to make things with minty flavour. I already made a delicious minty chocolate fudge cake with crushed mint leaves, but I think it would taste even better with mint extract. I would also like to try and make my own mint chocolate. I don't want it to hold mint leaves (it just doesn't look as good), so again, I need mint extract.

I've been thinking of making my own mint extract, but diving further into the matter showed me that I might aswell just order it online. It'll save me a lot of hassle and the vodka I'd need to make my own extract is quite expensive anyways. So together with my friend Google, I started the search for a good online shop. I found British corner shop, which had two different minty extracts for sale. The prices were alright and as long as you stay under 1kg, the shipping costs are fine too.

Two bottles of mint extract don't weigh 1kg, so I took this opportunity to sate my love for foreign shops.

BCS020f099.jpg

It took a while to arrive and the box was a bit beaten up, but the wares were packed nicely (bubble wrap around the extract bottles) and they looked great! I was so happy it finally arrived! It's sunday now, so I have enough time to mess around with the minty chocolate. I'm so excited!

I also ordered a box of mint chocolates (which taste great), some hot chocolate sachets (haven't tried these yet), an orange extract bottle, cherry candy (yum!) and sesame seeds and ground almond to experiment with. It'll be so much fun to experiment with these new wares!

I'll have more time on my hands soon, so once I start experimenting, I'll be sure to keep you all posted.

Sort:  

Lovely stuff from waitrose..you cant go wrong.

I've never used it before (don't think we have it in the Netherlands), so that's great to hear!

There's not a lot of waitrose yet outside the country...i have bought stuff that ive sent home too..a bit pricey but worth it.their standard is very high :) enjoy!!

We used to have a mint tree in my yard when I was growing up. I did not think too much of it at the time but FFS it would smell so good from spring to the end of fall..

Ooh, yeah, that sounds great!

It grows like a weed in my backyard, and I love it. Smells great when I mow.

Haha, yeah it really does take over your whole garden. When I was little, I got to pick a plant I wanted to grow in my mum's garden, so I picked mint (it smelled great!). We found out the hard way that it grows like weed!

I have it in my garden aswell, but I've planted it in a seperate container to avoid trouble :-)

Wow ! That stuff looks awesome ! And i also love chocolate mints , cant get enough of them ! Great post thanks for shareing !👍😋

Yes, they are one of my weaknesses, can't stick with just one :D
Thank you for your nice comment!

very cool, all looks good!

Oh yes, it looks so tasty and handy! I'm just not sure what I'll use the sesame seeds for yet. I'm sure Google can help me with that :D

That explains why I can't find any mint! Thanks :)

You should try Matchmakers - they are these chocolate mint sticks - I love them!

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/828235230972669952

Oh, yes I love those! Though the after eight chocolates are even better :D

Ooh I'm on Twitter! That's a first :D

Cool what is your twitter name?

Ooh, no, I mean your link :-)
I don't have a twitter account. Just can't do it, it would mean even more channels to look at!

That's a fine haul. I love minty chocolate and other things too. It's a definite one to try!

It's great, isn't it? I just made my first batch of minty chocolates, but it's still too much dark-chocolatey... Gonna try it with a bit of milk powder next time. The mint comes out nicely though!

It is indeed. That sounds yum. I look forward to seeing a post of the next batch! :O)

Lots of yummy goodness there... brings back fond memories of the days when I lived in the UK!

Ooh nice! That's the great thing about the internet though. Wherever you are, you can just order all your favorite products online. Even if only for nostalgic reasons :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55