Foodie Woodpecker

in #blog6 years ago

Good morning Steemit! It's a cold and windy day again.

Luckily, the woodstove is nice and warm by now and I've already grabbed a new wheelbarrow full of wood to keep this place warmish throughout the day. I say warmish, because with windy weather, there is only so much I can do.

Remember when I talked about the big storm that hit us a couple of weeks ago? The upside of it was that my boyfriend's dad received new wood to cut and split for our woodstoves. They cut the wood into smaller chunks a little while ago and yesterday, my boyfriend showed me how to split them into good chunks for the woodstove.

IMG-20180211-WA0000.jpg

This handy little machine basically does all the work! All I have to do is gather a pile of wood and set it firmly on the machine.

IMG-20180211-WA0001.jpg

I can move it down by pressing down the side handles and the machine splits the wood quite easily.

IMG-20180211-WA0002.jpg

After that, it's just a matter of pulling them apart and then piling them up to dry inside the greenhouse turned wood storage.

We split five wheelbarrows yesterday morning, after which I really wanted to go back inside. We hadn't had any breakfast or anything to drink since we got up and started the splitting.

Atleast now I know how to work this thing, so if I get bored and/or when the weather is agreeable, I can split some wood on my own. I just have to pick the smaller sized wooden logs, because I'm not actually strong enough to carry the big ones and feel safe doing it!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Same here. Cold, raining and windy. I am freezing lol
Now you learned something new that can help you all life long. Take rest and have a hot coffee :)

great work look deep into nature, and than you will understand everything better, its all about quality of life and finding a happy balance between work,friends and family..

stay blessed and keep posting

I see you putting on a good job down there @playfulfoodie

Wow, that is hard work. But with Machinery, tobe simpel.

Glad to hear you're feeling a bit warmer this morning. That wood splitter looks fun. I could imagine you could get into quite a meditative state once you got a rhythm going. 😊

Hello,,,in Indonesia is also cold, because it is still entering the rainy season .. btw when to write about food again?

Thanks for asking! I actually wanted to post a recipe yesterday, but I didn't have the images available on my pc yet. I transfered them over today, so I'll share a recipe or two soon :D

okay ,,, I'm waiting for this day? hahaha

I'll remember to share one or two soon! Unless something else comes up that I want to write about, but I've got some ready now :-)

yeah...thanks you marian.

I like also the new machines, which help a lot with preparing the wood. With an ax it is too much work, at least for me. ;-)

With an ax it is too much work

I think I would be a little scared to use the axe to be honest. I'm way too clumsy ;-)
Also, I don't think I'm strong enough to use the axe for very long, so yes, I'm very happy with this machine!

Loading...

In my house we never split wood... We usually just use big trunks with little ones and that's it, maybe some pinecones to make it more flammable...
Unless it's my brother starting the fireplace, he usually grabs the alcohol and throws some of it inside the fireplace xD

Unless it's my brother starting the fireplace, he usually grabs the alcohol and throws some of it inside the fireplace

Haha, I'm sure that'll work well!

Big trunks won't fit very well in the woodstove and also, they'd be a bit too heavy for me! Though I guess we could cut them up into smaller discs instead of the longer logs. I do feel split wood catches fire more easily though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50