Foodie is back! -ish

in #blog6 years ago

Well, it's been a couple of non-regular weeks!

Playfulfoodie picture

Hubby's back to work now and I can honestly say we're settled into our new place. Sure, there's still a few things to move over, but we're not rushing and everything we did move over is unpacked.

I'll tell you, I really enjoyed the days after the move and without internet. I enjoyed the slow pace of life. With that in mind, I haven't felt the urge to get on the pc a lot these last few days since we have internet. Sure, I had some things to arrange and addresses to change, but I did all that and I just... don't turn on the pc when the day's started and I'm home alone (I do like the idea of having internet when I need it...).

The last two blogs I shared were written when we didn't have internet. I was kinda glad I had those on hand, because I wasn't inspired to write much. I mostly just read books, do household chores and rumage through the house a little.

I think the weather isn't helping much either. It's just too hot! We still haven't had any rain and this week the temperatures are rising even higher. They say saturday will bring rain and sunday will bring cooler temperatures. I say cooler, I mean 'more normal for this time of year'.

Our grass has been brown for weeks by now. I guess I'm happy I don't have to mow the lawn. There's not much weeds growing in the garden either.

Anyway, so I'm happy here. In the morning when it's not too hot yet, I sit outside reading a book or some random websites. In the evening, we can also head outside to chill out a little. Whenever I look up, I see trees, which is just so relaxing for me. I could not, for the life of me, understand how some people enjoy living in a busy city instead of a quiet place like this. I'm happy they do though, because it means less competition and crazy prices for amazing places like this one.

Oh, so I have some things to check out here on Steemit! First, @teutonium challenged me to this 7 day album challenge. I'll try to get myself sorted to start that, though I think to keep it up, I'll have to get some posts ready in advance! Also, there's this Ulog thing happening? I think it's about sharing a daily blog of your life kinda, so basically what I've been doing for most of my time here? I don't know exactly yet though, but once I find the will to check it out, I might share a couple of those too. Just gotta check out the rules.

For those who follow me for my gaming streams, I have some bad news. With our internet connection the way it is right now, I probably won't be able to do any proper streaming. Maybe I'll try some day soon, but I doubt it'll work out. The good news though, is that we are trying to get this extra service for people who have slow connections in the middle of nowhere. If we can show them we have enough 4g speed, they'll set us up with a 4g connection to complement our current one and people online are very positive about the results. I should be able to stream with that I think. Keep you posted on that!

So, with the whole 'not having the urge to be on the pc a lot'-thing, I've decided I'll try not to push myself too much and just let things happen when they happen. This means I might not post every single day. I'm sure I can't leave Steemit alone for too long though, so I won't be completely MIA like I was without the internet. And hey, once weather turns bad again, I'll probably regain my pc addiction quite quickly!

Oh, and lastly, for those who read my last blog, my brother's doing a lot better by now and he's allowed to eat more things now too, so good news!

Have a good day!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |

Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

You know, its funny you say that... I have been feeling a little similar lately... like if I feel the need to have a bit of a digital detox, or just dont "feel" like writing - I won't anymore.... It needs to come naturally! Although having said that.... it does help if you dont actually have an internet connection hehe :)

Is that your garden you are standing in? It looks GORGEOUS!!!! (brown grass irrelevant!! haha)

like if I feel the need to have a bit of a digital detox, or just dont "feel" like writing - I won't anymore.... It needs to come naturally!

Yes exactly! I keep having to remind myself of this once in a while, because I eventually get to a place where I feel like I 'have' to write each day but then it starts becoming less fun. Just gotta take a step back and cool off. But yes, not having internet helps a lot ;-)

That is indeed my garden! It really is gorgeous and the background filled with trees just makes it completely perfect! I feel so lucky to be living at this beautiful place now :D

I would LOVE to see some more garden pics @playfulfoodie!!!!

I will try to remember to shoot and share some more :D

There is a strange peace and joy in not being connected to the web. At first is a jolly and then it's like aaahh. Of course it's nice to be back on too. Hope you find a good balance!

There is a strange peace and joy in not being connected to the web.

There is indeed! And as long as the weather's as good as it was when we had no internet, you don't really miss it at all (except for when you need it to tell companies you moved and get gas sorted and stuff...).

So far, even though we have internet now, I've been able to stay offline most of the time. I guess I enjoyed some time off more than I would have thought :-)

Yeah, the weather does help when it comes to it!

Welcome back cutie its good to see your post and never mind you post every time every one has some busy life.

I'm glad that everything goes well @playfulfoodie. Changes are always difficult at first, but I think they can help us expand the mind.

I have also had many problems with the Internet these days, the truth is that I am going crazy.

Strength, perseverance and optimism.
Greetings.

Hope your internet problems get solved soon! The slowish connection we now have here is acceptable for now. Problem is our tv is acting up aswell as long as we watch the live version of it. Pausing it for a couple of seconds and then watching helps as it acts like kind of a buffer. It's still not perfect though. I hope we get this additional 4g help soon, though they've been very unhelpful about the whole thing.

I'm sure I can't leave Steemit alone for too long though

It's like an addiction! I have it too...

Waiting for the album challenge :)

Yes, yes it is!

I just can't drag myself to the pc a lot, that album challenge might just have to wait until the weather gets bad again :D

Glad to hear you're brother's getting better and that you're taking a bit of a break from the internet. Sounds like a great idea while you've got the food weather, even if it is a bit hot.

We've got glorious weather here as well and I've been trying to make the most of it but going to the beach for a couple of hours every day. It's cooler there anyway but it's good to spend less time in front of the screen.

The beach sounds like a great place to cool off! We were at my father in-law yesterday and inbetween his house and shed was an amazing, strong breeze to cool us off. During these hot days, we would have gladly sat there the entire day!

Today was too hot to really be outside. Tomorrow will be worse, but after that some rain should come cool things off and take things down about 10 degrees Celsius. The temperature should be perfect then :D

We've might have some thunder storms on the horizon @playfulfoodie but first we have a day of 39 degrees. 😱

That would be bad enough but I'm going to be stuck in a car without air conditioning for six hours. We're driving down to Devon tomorrow. it doesn't bare thinking about!

Oh bah, our car doesn't have airco either and it was a real pain during those hot days! Hope it wasn't too bad for you!

It turned out to not be too bad @playfulfoodie. There was a sun roof which we had open and, when we were stuck in traffic, we opened the windows. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82