Cloud mining or faucets?

in #blog7 years ago

I know next to nothing about this and wondered what your experiences are.

Header sunrise

Someone was talking to me about mining crypto with some service they shared with a couple of friends. This was a rig set up in a country where energy costs were low, so they could actually make a profit.

Now I know next to nothing about mining and found some sites pointing to Eobot, saying it's a cheap way to start mining (and it also contains a faucet). I signed up and that's about as far as I got. Then I started reading more.

All I've read so far is that mining is not a good investment. It gets increasingly difficult to mine, so you'll earn less and less. I already knew I shouldn't do it on my home pc, because energy costs would be higher than what I'd earn by mining. I'm not sure about the cloud mining thing though.

What are your experiences with mining or cloud mining? How/where do you do it and what's your advice?

Also, those faucets I keep hearing about give small amounts of crypto each day, right? What are sites you use for this? I'm just afraid I'll sign up for bad sites, riddled with malware and such.

Any advice or shared experiences would be most welcome!



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


My Deviantart image used as a header for my blog posts.


Sort:  

You will never get anywhere with faucets unless you either have a lot of time to do captchas or become a referral spammer.

Clound mining is almost always a scam. Ask yourself if there is profit to be made off of the mining why does the company need to rent out the hash rate? Again referrals are where the money is that's why there is so much spam.

You are better off buying coins and holding or if your good at it trading. Or just earn money with good content on steemit.

Yeah, I've been sticking to Steemit and trading so far. The mining thing seems very difficult to me and like you say, how can you earn off of it and why would they then rent out their power?

The faucets I guess are for when I'm bored and have nothing better to do!

Thank you so much for your input, I really appreciate it :D

Loading...

I do some genesis mining. I spent $226US BTC for 1 Terahash of BTC mining and 15 Metahash of X11 Dash mining.

I do get daily payments sent to my exodus wallet. It's really small though. Dash is about 80 Cents a day and BTC is about a dollar every 2 days. It will start getting smaller though unless I upgrade again.

It has not yet paid for its self but I do enjoy checking my wallets and sending the coins over the exchange and put them to work. So far it's been good.

I bought BTC with steem. All it was paid for with Steem actually. So it was a risk I was willing to take. The btc and dash I get I love trading on the exchanges. So it's like a steady small supply of money I can play with.

I do log into EOBOT once in a while and use the free Steem faucet. I am at about 2.60 free steem from just for logging in and free Doge for logging in.

If you do sign up to genesis please use my code, we both get a deal. 3% off

rpMj9Z

Good luck!!

Thanks for sharing your experiences! I would only invest what I have earned with Steem aswell, though I wonder if it's worth it. It does seem like fun to get a steady income (even though you've actually paid for it yourself) to play with. The faucets seem like an easy enough thing to do during slow moments.

If I do decide to go with genesis, I'll use your code :D

Wow ,there is a lot of info here. I have tried faucets. God what a lot of effort for tiny tiny amounts. I got bored after clicking things relentlessly for weeks to get about ten pence.

I bought some mining power from Genesis Mining with some steem. I wouldn't necessarily buy it with cash. I spent roughly £50 on a 2 year dash contract and after 2 months have roughly 0.2 DASH which is worth at the current price about £14 which means if it carries on in this way, I will break even around 8/9 months and profit after that. People say it doesnt work and eventually dries up but I live in hope :O)

And like others, if you need a referral code, heres mine BAHNLQ ;O)

Ooh that sounds good actually. Even if it slows down a bit, you'll still have over a year more to at the very least break even. I hope you'll have many months of profit! I might just try a mining contract soon for some of my earnings of crypto!

That's the hope. You get a bit alarmed by the claims of scan but I though if I was using earnings from here it's not such a blow!

Aye, that's a good way of looking at it. I've been trading cryptos a lot lately and all with earnings from Steemit. I'm not really up for using my own savings on this, because I don't want to risk losing them. I don't mind that as much with these online earnings :-)

The magic internet money that doesn't always feel real!! ;0) hehe, yes, same here!

I use all of these some are good, your never gonna make a lot but if you persist you will get something each week.

Genesis Mining 3% discount use code iRI47z

Mine cryptocurrencies including Monero simply with your computer, simple one click mining
https://minergate.com/a/f66ef93b87e08993f737f645

Free Bitcoin faucets
https://freebitco.in/?r=4320417
http://moonbit.co.in/?ref=2b47be214e64

Free Doge Faucets
http://freedoge.co.in/?r=870336
http://moondoge.co.in/?ref=78deeec27146
http://coin-freedoge.ru/?r=DMckwVaBRxL9npQgFAjgjju5idLxREJZGv

Free Litecoin faucets
http://coin-freeltc.ru/?r=LYNr7QPiaZjhsgBQRvgeG8VC3VgJWVxz5F
http://moonliteco.in/?ref=2a9d13299253

Thank you for the links, I will check them out!

No problem some are better paying them others

I wish you a happy day,

Let the problems, the sorrows leave you.

Let resentment and pain, bypass,

Be today, you are happy, and satisfied with yourself.

Aww what a sweet message, thank you for that! You put a smile on my face :-)

thanks for posting this so i could learn from the discussion this has generated! great post!

I'm glad I'm not the only one benefiting! Great to hear, thanks :D

Faucets take ages - mining depends to find a reliable one. eobot seems stable to mine several coins - as @steevc outline Moondoge and also Moonlite are okish faucets which you can accumulate to robot for example.

Thank you for your advice :-)
Mining seems dodgy, but so far I'm hearing most positive noise about genesis and eobot.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41