My Steemit Anniversary! {A Year in Review}

in #blog6 years ago
Happy Friday everyone!  I've seen a lot of these lately, so I'm happy to be in great company sharing my Steemit 1-year anniversary.  Or really a birthday if you will, as I do feel like this experience really was the birth of a new side of myself both personally and professionally!  I am so thankful that @dksart twisted my arm into making an account last August because I have met so many wonderful people all across the globe that I never would have met otherwise.  There are definitely highs and lows to any adventure, but I think I can say for sure most of this blogging experience has been extremely positive and rewarding.



It is quite funny looking back now, but I started out as quite unsure of myself and a bit fearful to share the bits and pieces of my world with strangers.  Even just sharing recipes was a totally new experience for me.  I think I started my Wordpress page just a few weeks before I started on here, so Steemit really has been a huge part of my whole blogging progression.  I came into it thinking @dksart was nuts as I had (still have) very little experience with cryptocurrency and had no clue what a blockchain was.  Luckily I've got him to guide me through the technical stuff, so I can enjoy my favorite part of this--the people!



Though I may not be a part of as many groups as some, the ones I do take part in along with the amazing individual bonds I have made are very dear to me.  So much so I am going to highlight the big ones next week for a little September anniversary challenge!  Get ready @steemusa, @vegansofsteemit and @runningproject to join in on some fitness fun. ;)  I'll save the specifics for my challenge announcement post, but the point is to give back a bit to those groups that have really supported me as well as make sure I keep up the connections within them.  If you have followed me long enough to remember my pumpkin challenge, the one coming up will have a similar flair!



One of the things that has helped me connect the most and really push myself to try new things has been joining in on the neat challenges that some of my favorite friends have hosted in the past or still host.  My dear friend @lenasveganliving is just about to hit a full year hosting her ever-positive and inspiring #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge.  I can't thank Lena enough for all of her support and kind words over the year.  Two ladies who also hosted challenges that I joined in on early on are @woman-onthe-wing and @heart-to-heart.  Though they are not as active on here at the moment, they are two wonderfully talented and driven ladies that helped boost my confidence early on.  I know life needs to be lived outside of the screen, but I hope to see both my girls back here soon. ;)  The @cookwithus crew is also really fantastic.  Tons of amazing entries every week, but even more so the community is another gem with all of the kind words and support.  The terrific trio of @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart do a wonderful job of running a stand-up contest.

I also need to give a little credit to @jumowa for hosting the #runforsteem for quite a stretch!  @chelsea88 who I think I originally came across in the USA group, was the first one to introduce me to the initiative.  It was a fantastic way to connect with the other runners on here, and ultimately with @toofasteddie's baby the @runningproject.  I have enjoyed running for quite a while, but I totally got a renewed boost of enthusiasm from connecting with these guys and gals.  I am inspired by all of the hard work everyone puts in, and I know it has kept me more consistent in blazing my own trails here in my own town.

Though the @vegansofsteemit started by @evecab is a fairly new group page, the Discord channel has been going strong for a while now and I am constantly finding new people to connect with through that group.  I still don't know a lot of other vegheads in person, so that has been another really rewarding experience on here.  Connecting with other people who have similar stances on such big things like the quality of our food and animal rights has been such a boost to my confidence that I have picked the right path.  I don't even know where to begin with all of the killer (but not killers, ha) individuals I have met that show how delicious, beautiful, strong, and fulfilling the plant-based life can be.  You all continue to make me want to be a better person.

@steemusa was actually the first group I officially became a part of (outside of contests), which is a big deal for an introvert like me who is not always much of a joiner. ;)  It is probably the most diverse group I am a part of since we are tied by geography but not necessarily by our passions we share in blogging.  I do very much enjoy meeting people I would not normally come across in my usually food and fitness sphere.  So many amazing photographers, homesteaders, comedians, musicians and all kinds of different specialties.  I don't always get a chance to scope out what everyone is sharing, but perhaps this is a good time to make my rounds again in case I'm missing some quality work!



I could go on, but I think you all get the idea!  Thank you all who read this or who have every shared a kind word on any of my posts.  I appreciate it more than you know.  I hope to continue creating content, making connections, and supporting others for many more years to come!  Cheers!


 (Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa)   
Sort:  

Happy Steemiversary Katie !

I highly appreciate what you do and bring on Steemit and got linked to a lot of great blogs, projects and people that have been mentioned in many of your blog posts. Keep it up and have a happy and healthy 2nd year on this platform !

Thank you so much for all that you do on here, as well! It's wonderful to have a place with so many genuinely supportive and interesting people to interact with, so I hope everyone continues to stick around! 😄

Happy steem-Birthday my friend and thanks for the mention!!!

Thanks for the support! Get your core muscles ready, because I'm calling out @runningproject folks to join in on my challenge in a few weeks. ;)

I will...but let me finish my holidays first 😂

Haha, don't worry, you've got a few weeks until then, so enjoy the break while it lasts!

Happy Steemit anniversary! So much has happened to you within a year, I'm glad that you've found so many like-minded people here on Steemit, and kept inspiring us on a weekly basis! Steemit truly is a wonderful place! :)

Thank you! Every year has its ups and downs, but this has definitely been a good year of growth for me! Looking forward to what life has in store next. Both on here and off. ;)

Aw, thanks for the shoutout here. Most importantly, congrats on one year!! Been cool getting to know you. ♡

It was fun to reflect back. :) There are quite a few folks that have fallen off, so glad there are still plenty of my favorite people still hanging around!

Isn't that the truth? Plenty of people missing in action or should i say not action lol

i wonder how you see the world from upside down ;-)

It's good to get a change of perspective every now and then. ;)

Happy Steemit anniversary Katie! Cheers to many more years and great connections to come! 🤗

Thank you my friend! I am very happy our digital paths have crossed! :)

Happy birthday Katie! I am so glad you are here, you are an amazing contributor and encourager. You teach me something new every day! Blessings! :)

Aww, the feeling is mutual! I think we all teach each other so much and keep raising the bar on sharing high quality, positive content all around! Enjoy your baby snuggles!!

What a great declaration on your 1 year birthday! I’m sure many of us feel the same way about the content and the community here. Great job putting it in words. I’m glad to have met you @plantstoplanks and look forward to another year on the block chain.

That's why I enjoy it so much--because of other people like you who make it such a welcoming environment! I am excited about another year ahead! Have a great day! :)

Happy Steem-versary Katie! I for one am very glad you followed your man's suggestion of signing up :-) I have no alcohol in the house right now to toast you, but I raise up my coffee mug in congratulations! Thanks very much for the lovely mention, and I will surely return soon. I'm not sure now of the future of Make It Healthy... I have a few ideas running through my head, but for now I've been helping my man do the @steembluepages, and have some Steemit Voices interviews out too, so still busy behind the scenes! Talk to you soon xx

After a busy weekend, I will gladly accept another cup of coffee to get me through my Monday to toast with! I'm just selfish and miss you, but I totally understand other things taking precedence so I hope your current projects are going well! I'm sure whatever direction you take in your own blogging will be infused with your usual positive outlook and passion for healthy living. Take care and I will see you soon!

PS: I'm about to make some mashed potatoes! ;)

Keep running your blog like a pro and stay healthy!

Thanks @edouard! I'll do my best. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61