The Story about my old Ladies

in #blog7 years ago

Hey guys, hope everyone is having a lekker day? (Lekker is Afrikaans for nice btw)

So I decided I want to do a little segment about my guitars, as these girls each have their own story as to how they entered my life and what they have experienced. Seeing as they each deserve to be discussed on their own I'll be doing it in a series.

Today is Part 1 and we'll be discussing my one of a kind Ibanez model 2020

DSC_0350.JPG

So when I was in High School I played hockey and we had this one coach (Dominique) that was very big on building team spirit. So before one of our biggest games he invited the entire team over to his place for a braai the night before. We all got to his place and he said we can put our bags down in his daughters room, now I'm not a snoop but I like to observe my surroundings and doing this I notice this guitar poking out from behind the cupboard. Being both curious and a musician I decide to give it a peak at see what it is.

The guitar was pretty rough and I didn't recognize the model but I saw it said Ibanez on the headstock, so I was like oh well I looks pretty badass and if it's Ibanez it can't be too bad? I then continued into the kitchen to find out what is up with this mysterious guitar.

He told me that they, wait for it... Picked it up in a park and fixed it up a bit for his daughter to play with but they have no idea what it is. This confirmed it, I was hooked and I needed to know what this guitar is. I spent the entire night searching keywords on what the guitar could possibly be. After a few hours I finally found it. It was a Ibanez model 2020, and by the looks of it the1969 model, then i knew I had to have it. So without disclosing all the information I asked to buy it, he then said unfortunately it was up to his daughter and unfortunately se said no. A week went passed and I came up with a better idea, why not trade my old classic nylon for her Ibanez and chuck in a few lessons, to which he agreed and she said no to once again... I tried a few more times but with the same result. So after our last game he came up to me and thanked me for the season and gave me a parting gift as it was my last year in School and he was also moving to a different school.

There it was in the back of his car my old new Ibanez model 2020!!!!!!

I took the guitar in for a service some rewiring and strings and the guy at the shop said he is so amped to work on the guitar he will do EVERYTHING FOR FREE!!!! So here is my baby, today I'll be giving her a bit of a service and cleaning and I'll drop the clean photo in the next one.

The guitar isn't worth to much as it was not built to be the best, however it is still a collectors edition guitar as the guitar was built to celebrate the joining of Teisco guitars and Ibanez in the late 60's. I have only ever played the guitar live once as it's really more of a clean style guitar and I play with overdrive that makes it a bit muddy but it's great to play at home, hope you guys enjoyed that little trip down memory lane with me.

DSC_0351.JPG

DSC_0352.JPG

DSC_0353.JPG

Sort:  

Such an amazing story man. Hope the rest are also this good. Can't wait!

One can only hope, I know at least one is.

Nice my man! Collectors Edition... Make sure you take good care of that bad boy!

Upvoted

Thanks man, I will haven't actually played her in a while so I'm amped to get to work on the service and cleaning!!!

Yeah man!!! Great little story!!! I enjoyed that. Upvoted :):)

Congratulations @pieterb3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Loading...

Great story and amazing memories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76