New Ideas and Old Problems

in #blog7 years ago

Don't you ever feel that no matter how great your new "Idea" is, there is always a set of problems that arise each time

We have this saying in Afrikaans: "Van uitstel kom afstel". What it means is as soon as you start postponing things you can just as well write them off. Now being a creative in the entertainment industry more than 50% of my job is just to come up with cool shit.

Now, a few days I got this brilliant idea that would put my company @dse on the map here is South Africa. The first person I told replied with no it's not going to work, but I'm used to that because I dream big from the start.

So here is how it works with me when I get a new idea:

I'd start off thinking about it
Then it would consume my thoughts
Then I'd blow it up as big as I possibly can
I would then tell one person and they'd call me crazy
Then I'd have this after glow of ideas' on the concept (Kinda like the happiness after sex?)
On the last night of feeling positive, I would usually listen to some egotistical music to congratulate myself for thinking of this great idea and dance on the balcony alone because of sheer excitement
Then I would wake up and just see all the problems and flaws in the concept. (AKA Today)

Ps the song I listened to last night is "Can I get a witness by SonReal" if you wana feel good and sing that "I am the man" Lyric :)

So I'm going to try and break the cycle of always following that recipe, I will still follow it all the way but now instead of postponing the idea because of the flaws etc, I will work them out and see this one through as it could really make a boom for me and my company so here is to no retreat no surrender, see you guys on the other side.

Wish me Luck?

Sort:  

Dream big and never give up on your ideas, you have a beautiful mind @pieterb3 :)

All the best with the new approach!

Nice, great post!!! I like the way you think man!! I was the same back in the day. Van uitstel kom afstel. Not anymore, the fire has been lit and it's going to keep burning. Bigger, hotter, brighter :):) I'll catch you in the chats sometime :) Cheers!!

Congratulations @pieterb3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55