Day 2 - Nature Walk

in #blog6 years ago

Hello everyone, or no one, who knows.

One of my classes at school requires me to go to a park and journal every week and is the center of what I did today. This might seem like a great activity, and in theory, it is. The problem is, all the action happens on the way to and away from my journaling bench. It can be quite the challenge to write about all the things I observe when there’s no physical activity to observe! So since I can’t write about it in my journal, I’ll share a little bit here.

This area is home to a very large woodpecker. It’s about a foot long and sounds like a hammer when it’s striking the tree. I find woodpeckers in general fun to watch, there’s just something innately amusing about seeing a bird smack its beak into a tree trunk over and over again. Another enjoyable bird I encountered is a little fellow, about robin-sized, that has a brown belly and a blue tail, and I think a blue back too.

As much as I love being in the woods, I don’t think I want to live in a wooded area. I’ve spent my entire adult life in the same biome and really want a change of pace. I would like to try living in the desert, such as in Arizona, or somewhere more tropical, like Florida. Both of these places have one major thing in common, year-round heat. I am a skinny fellow and don’t do a good job of retaining body heat, so every winter is a chore and eventually really gets on my nerves. Given that, it is surprising that I’m also interested in moving to Brighton, England, or somewhere else on the southern coast. Yes, I am aware of the stereotype of constant rain, the other thing I don’t like, but hear me out. I did a little bit of research and found that some places on the southern coast get normal amounts of sun, unlike central and northern UK which are below normal. Obviously, I’ll try out the climate there first by simply making an extended visit before I make any commitments.

Let us nature lovers take a moment to lament the continual development of nature dense areas.

“They paved paradise and put up a parking lot.” -Joni Mitchell

So tell me! What places do you guys love to visit for the nature?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03