Day 1 part 2 -Polytheism

in #blog6 years ago

Now that I've introduced myself, I'll actually write about what's on my mind this afternoon.

My first two mission trips were to Guatemala. The people there are descended from the Mayan civilization and thus have some of their culture and religious beliefs. I found out during my time on the trips that the people there, at least out in the remote areas that we worked, have mixed their beliefs with Christianity. They believe that everything, even inanimate objects, has a soul and/or is connected. For instance, when constructing things, they may ask for a blessing from the earth or other natural entities in the area but also pray to God. Now in the Bible, God says to have no other gods before me. This would seem to shun the Guatemalan's way of thinking. However, is there not a difference between worship and homage? Can we pay homage to spiritual entities and worship God and not break God's rule? Tack #1

One of my favorite book series is the Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne. In the story, all spiritual/mythical beings in our world exist so long as someone believes in them. Which means that a crucified Christ can walk around with a dryad and a kitsune. This idea appeals to me as it is very accepting, particularly when some of these religions follow similar moral codes. Tack #2

I find it hard to fulfill my duty to bring people to Christ (for love's sake, not for numbers) when some other religions are trying to do the exact same thing: love others. I find this idea wrong, that I should try to turn them from ways that are not terribly dissimilar to my own, simply because my religious text says I should. Tack #3

My overarching thought from all of this is such: do other religions actually contain part of the ultimate answer? Is there some truth in other religions than my own? Do we all contain a piece of a puzzle?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93