You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Recycled Items Found & Sold, Donated, or Kept ($0 Cost -> $432.33 Profit After Fees) - Help The Environment, Others & Yourself!

in #blog7 years ago

I do enjoy reading these posts Matt. It encourages me to do more of this.

I live in a rural area so can't scour the streets so easily. Although I did have one major find of a complete china tea set not so long ago in a Welsh seaside town I was passing through.

My main "sources of acquisition" are Freecycle and the local rubbish dump. I've found it is best to visit the rubbish dump on a Monday morning after a dry weekend. Everyone is out in the open so if it rains so much gets ruined.

What sort of size city do you live in? You seem to get some amazing finds.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments. I live in a massive city, so that's where the recycling volume comes from. Almost everything is just sitting on the curbs on their own or in clear bags to easily spot. Everyone seems to just walk right by it, but I can't let that happen. These first posts of mine are literally the tip of the iceberg of what I find almost every day I go out. Being able to do this for a living (with thrifting and other incomes) is heavily a function of the volume around me. If I were in Wales by you, I'd probably only be able to do this as a hobby. Regardless, it's great that you're doing what you can with the resources around you.

A complete china tea set is definitely nothing I've ever been able to find via recycling. I've found plenty at thrift stores, which reminds me of one find I'll use in a future post. Nice job and thanks for following my stories. Glad someone is reading!!

Do you have Freecycle.org in your city? I think it is worldwide. That really is a good source for me. I am on the border of two Freecycle areas so I can get double the finds. Very useful.

Freecycle is super competitive by me so I don't use it much. You probably have better success with it than I can. I've gotten one very nice item from there (a complete professional architectural printer) and a vacuum, but stopped because I think the spirit of that group is to exchange goods to keep. I could be wrong though. We also have trashnothing.org, which you may want to see if they have by you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46