Yes This Is A Rant

in #blog5 years ago

lucas-favre-MNXaW_ABlZY-unsplash.jpg

I got the most welcoming and useful comment from @chekohler:

So I went immediately to my WordPress in order to install that magical plugin that would allow me to get my blog post here automatically.

I press "Plugins" and I see something funny:

Whaaaat???

I click to see and yes:

The 8 € per month plan DOES NOT INCLUDE PLUGINS. I mean what the hell WordPress? In which moment you have turned into a money-hungry bitch that is limiting user options by how much they are willing to pay? Back in the day I was able to run a blog without paying anything with my own domain but no, I paid 96 € for the basic stuff and now I would have to pay some 212€ more if I wanted plugins and other things that were included in the past.

I hope that someone will set up a new platform that will beat WordPress since this is not okay in my books.

The world is literally just about mone and nothing much more.

Sort:  

Its because you’re using a WordPress.com site! If you purchase your own domain via a service provider like Godaddy and install WordPress.org you’ll have access to all the plugins you would like!

Yeah I I know it sucks! WordPress is still probably the best thing we have to run your own site easily! Wix, webflow and Squarespace are trying but they’re nowhere close!

I do also like using ghost to run a site because it’s smooth integration with medium! But yeah we’re stuck with WP for now

Posted using Partiko iOS

hey I have my own domain, but it's mapped with wordpress.com as I did not know that I can link it with Wordpress.org :( Goddammit, should have asked before doing anything from someone

I'm sure you're not the first or the last person who started a blog with WordPress and got caught in the trap, I guess that's how they make their money. I know if you don't pay they normally stuff your blog with ads that you get no money from and it lives on a WordPress subdomain

So they are indeed money-hungry bitchess. Let's hope for brighter future

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66