Cigarettes in a Cafe - Weekend #Freewrite

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Image Source Pixabay

For the weekend #freewrite hosted by @mariannewest I chose to use the single prompt option and I chose the prompt "cigarettes".

 

The acrid smell of her cigarettes drifted across the expanse of the empty cafe and filled my nostrils with memories of my past. Of a time when I indulged freely and deeply into a pack of Marlboro Lights. I was a different man then carrying of only the things that would bring me pleasure and help erase the pain of running from my destiny.

Who was I to blame for my decision to live a life void of true passion and nobility?. I chose to walk with the wretched wary of the underbelly of the streets. These were my people who would embrace me void of judgement.

I flitted back to the present and wandered over to the lady enjoying a cigarette as the weary night was clearly resting upon her frail shoulders. I sat down and stared deeply into her eyes to see if I recognized what had driven me to the same exact place she was swimming in at this very moment.

There was nothing but the glazed look of despair of those unfortunate souls who are up at this hour sitting in a tattered booth in an all night diner drinking lukewarm bitter coffee and smoking stale cigarettes. She looked away and I gathered myself to walk into the drizzling memory of the night.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/08/cigarettes-in-a-cafe-weekend-freewrite/

All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Great wright mate.

Incredible freewrite @papacrusher. I think it's well articulated for a freewrite though. I loved it.

Ohh. I am in love with your last line....

to walk into the drizzling memory of the night.

Freewrite House Footer
And here is your newest prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-262-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-parachuted

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you, I had a feeling the timer was running out, so I threw down whatever I could.

worked well!! I am so glad that you are writing with us!!

It seems as though cigarettes are all tied to something dark and bold. Glad I dont smoke! :p

They definitely were for me, but maybe not for everyone.

Stunning freewrite. You make me so glad that I quit many decades ago! What an emotive piece. Fantastic writing.

Thank you so much, it means a lot to me comong from you.

Love the #freewrite, Papa. Also love the pic of the cigarette smoking woman. One of yours? One can see her addiction written in the lines of her face.

No, I found it on pixabay, but I felt it really gelled well with the story. Thanks for the compliment and support!

Hats off! I love it! I never tried freewrite because I think it's really hard to compose a sentence and even a paragraph in just a short time.

Thank you. You should give it a try! Just let you mind ramble and see what shakes out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76