You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Continue Schooling or Begin Educating?

in #blog7 years ago

While I'm really glad that I decided to go to university, I do have a few observations about the matter, which I keep thinking about.

-University made me learn programming, but I didn't really learn it from classes. We were just forced to learn it and that made me realize how much one can learn by oneself. I think the most important thing one can do if one does not go to college or university is to learn to learn.

-What university considers relevant knowledge isn't always the same as what students, or even employers consider to be relevant knowledge.

-Whenever you actually want to use what you've learnt at university for something useful, they have a tendency to just skip to the next chapter and give you something new, less exciting to learn. In my opinion, learning through personal projects gives a far greater understanding of a topic, than being forced to hand in a specific deliverable. There is nothing more demotivating than not having time to do what you want to do with what you've learnt.

-I've come to realize that exams give neither a good estimate on knowledge, nor understanding, nor experience. They do measure something, but I'm still not sure what.

-I think on of the most valuable resource you get at college/university are the people you meet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62261.48
ETH 2423.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66