You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Am I Grateful For #1 - Like Father, Like Son

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I spent the day with my Dad yesterday. He is nearly non weight bearing and is now physically smaller than me. Yet, as you say, I still feel I am nowhere near as big as my father. He used to stand at 6ft 5" so my measily 6ft 2" were always reason for him to call me 'littlun.' But he remains bigger than me, not because of his phyical statute, but because he is the man I still aspire to be.

Sounds like both you and I have a great deal to be thankful for with our Dads. The men who cared for us and taught us to be the men we hope we are today. Some pearls of wisdom from my own Dad include "only believe half of what you see and nothing of what you hear," "the World will never be a safe space until the last Politician is hung with the gut of the last priest" and "if you think you can do it, you can."

Great to read your post and good to know there are still plenty of good men on this Earth.

Sort:  

Amen brother, I am definitely still aspiring to be the man he wished of me! There definitely are plenty of good men still in this world, it’s not always easy to stand behind what you believe and I think this is the defining characteristic of a good man despite whether your beliefs are critical of the situation.

Sounds like your father and mine would get along famously! It would most definitely be an interesting conversation at least😉.

Thanks for stopping in and commenting, may the powers at be bless our genuinely good natured father’s with long life and peace within their hearts knowing they have raised further good men into this world!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64236.48
ETH 2519.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66