Create culture that inherently values women

in #blog5 years ago


Sylvia Plath

"Being born a woman is my awful tragedy. From the moment I was conceived I was doomed...to have my whole circle of action, thought and feeling rigidly circumscribed by my inescapable feminity. Yes, my consuming desire to mingle with road crews, sailors and soldiers, bar room regulars...to be a part of a scene, anonymous, listening, recording...all is spoiled by the fact that I am a girl, a female always in danger of assault and battery. My consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy. Yet, God, I want to talk to everybody I can as deeply as I can. I want to be able to sleep in an open field, to travel west, to walk freely at night."



Women are autonomous beings, and contrary to cultural messages that say otherwise, we don’t exist for the pleasure of others.

What we wear, where we walk, what we do or don’t do with our bodies is no one’s concern but our own.

Similarly, women are allowed to have our own perspectives – and to articulate them in the ways we choose – and just because a woman disagrees with you doesn’t mean that she doesn’t understand the complexities of the situation and needs an explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51