On Composing

in #blog8 years ago

When I first started to get into composing, I always figured that if I was going to make music it had to be for a purpose.
Growing up, I loved playing video games and I wanted to eventually work in that field one day. I soon realized that coding was harder than anticipated but I was determined to do something. When I got into middle school, I had a knack for playing trumpet which then led me into learning how to play piano of which got me through college.

But when I first made my own song I had the toughest writers block ever, I was nervous of how things would sound and frustrated on how things were not sounding as they were in my head. But giving up to me was not an option. Which kinda makes me happy that I'm still sticking with it. My teacher Howie told me, "Composing does not come in a day, it goes at your own pace."
and I take that to heart. As currently I'm currently stuck on this project and it's driving me crazy, but I must remain strong as this is my dream.

Also this piece is annoying me to no end.

Sort:  

Funny you mention video games, i always explain my obsession with ableton as "the best and last video game i will ever play". Extending the analogy further, you compare composition to the development and coding of a game where my instinct was to call it the game itself. Maybe we could learn from each other's perspective.

Where your view would imply already knowing (or hearing, in this case) where the player (listener) will go and composition is just a matter or translation and storytelling, making production the attention to detail and aesthetics like graphics or physics engines. That level of intent and vision is something I definitely wish i had.

On the "player"-side of the analogy, the frustration can be eclipsed by enjoyment of the game itself. Almost like playing GTA Vice City and not worrying about the missions. Just letting the enjoyment of the escapism carry your experience. I guess this would be reliant on inspiration, which could be another problem itself, but if you just let go and follow what feels good maybe the story (song) will write itself. Then composition is just a matter of editing. If it's not perfect, hit reset! (Showing my age, i dont even know if game systems have a reset button anymore, in our case itd be cmmd+'s' and then cmmd+'n'!)

Ideally, we'd use a dose of both to get a piece finished but your post highlighted something in my own 'workflow' that i could improve. Thanks.

Congratulations @onzerc! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @onzerc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @onzerc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67494.82
ETH 2610.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72