Unfollow? No, MUTE !

in #blog7 years ago

unfollow.jpg

Cluttered feed

Today was another afternoon when I decided to go over my feed, and do some more curation on new posts. ( I have to admit, I do not do this very often lately).
Yet again there was unpleasant discovery, how much my feed is cluttered with various meaningless and zero value posts. Especially have noticed a huge quantity of such from some places in Asia and even Africa. I started to do UNFOLLOW authors one after another. Very quickly I came to another discovery - a simple "unfollow" may not get the things done. Or even - no somewhat better.

Unfollow? No, better yet - MUTE!

mute.jpg

You may ask, why unfollowing may not be enough? Because of resteems ! You may not be following that annoying poster, from nowhere in middle-Asia at all, yet will be seeing his posts. Why? Because somebody is resteeming them. I have learned, there is a number of steemitíans I have on my followed list, and would be happy to keep them here further. However, once in a while, they are doing some weird resteems, for uncertain, often no obviuos reasons. How can I keep these stupid posts, meme's, funny ( really funny?) GIF's and videos away from my eyes? I have no other clue but "MUTE".
It has a double action. By clicking this button, author is both unfollowed+muted.

Steemit is growing at unprecedented rates, the flood of useless posts with ZERO value are growing day after day. We still have no ways to filter ( or search ) for something we like to see in as we do it all on Google. Not even close to that.

So how do we remain in control, what eats out time, our attention ?
Luckily we still have that MUTE button. :)
Without it, my hopes for a better and brighter future on steemit would be noticeably smaller.

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU RESTEEM




@onealfa

Sort:  

@onealfa - Sir, I stopped resteem a lot of contents... But I'll resteem your post as usual Sir...

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thanks a lot for your resteem @steemwija. I sincerelly hope you will not regret 😉

@onealfa - Sir I have no regret to resteem your posts... Your are my one of the most respectful person in this Steemit platform Sir...

+W+

@onealfa sir,this is realy great thinking.thanks for your suggestion for us.

yes and i agree with you for this unfollow and mute and also realy we carefull to resteem any post on our blog without any proper post and reason but resteem is a good option to save some in our memory to make us easy for look
also welcom back @onealfa sir

Sveiki ;)
I do not like unnecessary resteem

Hahaha! Yes I agree that sometimes you must go in and clean out the clutter! Makes for an easier more pleasant experience. I did not, however, realize that re-steems were a culprit as well and will have to look into my feed for this? Thanks for the tip! Enjoyed and learned.

I have never used the Mute button before.
I thought I was the only one noticing that. There's a lot of users with meaningless value posts and they copy and paste for the sake of getting SBDs.
Thanks for the tip thou. :-)

That is actually a very good use of Mute button! I never used it myself, but I'll remember now.

The unfollowing this is something we all have to do from time to time. And I actually do it as I see something I don't like.
Though I think it shouldn't happen. If i do select who I want to follow means I liked their content for some reason. So they changed and started posting something completely unrelated?

We all make mistakes when we lack an experience. I may got many on my list during first few weeks on steemit. Some are there, but I have no idea how and why are them included. :)

Yea... some people say go follow all the big fishes it's good for you!
And them we have all kinds of posts on the feed unrelated to out interest....

Good we can unfollow ;)

yes these two options are good in steemit but if we want to make secret our post from any person is not possible in steemit and the privacy in steemit is a matter and i hope and want an more option that mute our own posts from othes if we want to save our post from any person

To me this is yet better than nothing. To make our posts to be (un)seen by a specific viewers is probably much more hard to achieve. If possible at all.

I had some time without steemit, working on my projects for the semester. And when i came back... It was like i've never been here, people posting almost random stuff here and there, people spamming on the posts for following and upvotes... Money attracts all kinds of people.
Cheers dude! Good post!

I do not like unnecessary resteem,,,--%%%$%$#@

Very good strategy. I need to do this also. Thanks for the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49