About Me

in #blog7 years ago

Failte!

(Welcome!)

Hello, and Welcome to my blog! I'm Bethany, and I'm so glad you're here!

If it's not already apparent, I have a passion for working with kids and families. After I finished my Bachelor's in Psychology and Social Behavior at the University of California, Irvine (Zot!), I took my first post-college job at a residential treatment center for youth in Colorado. I worked with kids that had some of the toughest histories and situations. As challenging as it was, I found it equally rewarding to be able to build relationships and see that effort make a difference in a young person's life. I quickly became known as "Mama B" amongst the residents, and I knew I had found my calling.

Not long after that, I became a parent myself. I did what every reasonable first-time parent does...I panicked. How could I make sure my child was getting the proper amount of stimulation? Where was I going to fit all the baby products I "HAD" to have? How early was too early to start preparing for college? So I did what I always do and read anything and everything I could get my hands on. In this frenzy of research I discovered the work of wise individuals such as Magda Gerber and Maria Montessori. It was through this study that I learned three things:

  1. I didn't need to be panicked about being a parent.
  2. It was my job to assist my son in developing, not lead his development.
  3. Generally, assisting means staying the heck out of the way.
    It was like a weight was lifted off my shoulders, and I began to ENJOY being a parent!

This "less is more" philosophy spilled over into other areas of my life. As I explored my love of gardening, it led to learning about sustainability practices and self-sufficiency. Sustainability, in turn, lead to zero-waste living and a whole food, plant based diet. I also spent time learning about minimalism, and hygge. The more I simplified, the better I felt, and I wanted to share that revelation with others.

I saw an opportunity to share my perspective and help others simplify their lives by working as a Family Wellness Coach. Since I started my career, I have been able to help many families restore harmony to their homes through Parent Coaching and Positive Behavior Support. I am proud to be able to continue that mission today by leading a team of coaches in providing these vital services to families.

Of Earth and Hearth is part self-help book, part journey of self discovery as I synthesize my passion for parenting and sustainability to help make life easier for others who may be searching for a more simplistic life in our over complicated world. Enjoy my blog. I hope that you'll discover insights that will help you on your journey to living a more simple, stress free life.

Check out my website Of Earth and Hearth for new home, garden, and parenting tips. Subscribe to my newsletter to be the first to find out about my newest posts and get exclusive content!

Coming Soon:


One-on-one parenting consultations through Zoom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49