You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE NIGERIAN FRAUDSTER

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I think that if a person, Nigerian or otherwise, is intelligent, and open minded then they can see through the conditioning of their upbringing and learn to see things as they really are. I know this because this is what happened to me.

I was taught all kinds of nonsense when I was a kid. We grew up as poor as you can get in this country. I remember being so hungry sometimes I would go in a store and eat some candy in the aisle when no one was looking. My parents, sadly were not the hardworking kind of poor. Instead, they were lazy, uneducated and sorry for themselves. I hate to say this but it's true! They taught me that I should get money however I can, and spend it quickly before someone takes it away.

I made a lot of stupid mistakes when I was young. I was in and out of jail all the time, always angry and blamed the world for everything. Then I had to stop and really look at things. I say that my thinking was the problem. I had to change my thinking and behavior. Learn how to play the game, as it were. I don't mean selling out my values, but learn to beat the system at its own game.

I think that this is probably the case with many youths in Nigeria as well. They see a corrupt system and feel like there is no hope other than to life a life as a fraudster. Their own families and elders teach them a brutal way to live and they believe it is the only way to make it.

The hardest part is getting people to open their eyes and see that there is another way. One way that the rich control the poor is by portraying them as violent, thieving animals. The only way to fight back is to succeed and not give them any fuel!

Sort:  

a nice perspective. I believe most Nigerians feel trapped and helpless. they feel they cannot change a corrupt system and the only way to succeed is to part of it. however, you are a living prove that one can breakout from the norm or what theyve been thought and make a life for themselves. Thanks for sharing your story, I appreciate

Yeah, I know what it's like to feel like there is no benefit to being a good person. Especially with the horrible man that is in the White House right now. He is basically proof that you can be a mean, uncaring person who steps on people, insults those who oppose you and be a career criminal but still get to be President. It makes it look as if doing things the right way doesn't matter; but in the end corruption is always exposed. Sometimes it just takes a very long time! :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60505.16
ETH 2622.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61