the encounter - my life as an artist

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

It was the time in Wichita Kansas back in 2007 that got me on the path and the direction I am now heading on. We moved there from Colorado to my wife’s Aunt's estate where she was able to give me the freedom to create. In Wichita they have set up these art days called Final Friday,

It’s the last Friday of each month, so I was able to create all month and display on that Friday. My first art show was at the Zoom Dweebies Tea House.

The Last show I did was at Abode Contemporary Furniture store. This was great! Then in Kechi, Kansas just north of Wichita I met up with Roland Karg, a well known glass blower, at his studio we talked and I told him I could do bases for him. He went for the idea and there you go, one of the inspirations that came from him was “The Encounter” which finally found a home in Grand Island Nebraska.

The Encounter

images.jpg

I look back 10 years ago now, life in a whirlwind after all we were in Kansas, do you know what their state motto is? Per Aspera Ad Astra in Latin that means “through hardship to the stars” and boy did we go through them, a house fire, wife had a head injury, we had to leave. Finally since 2012 I am officially getting my studio back in order. And getting back to work creating with light, wood and glass. Now I haven't been slacking totally , just last month "The Portal" came about and it seems like I'm on to something again.

The Portal 2017-08-31 15.30.26.jpg

Hey thanks for reading this, I love to talk about all this art stuff, I do not have grandchildren to brag about so these pieces are my children.

Stay tunned folks... that's all for now.

Sort:  

You know I love your work. Finally seeing you active in Steemit is great. :)

The portal a step into the next dimension illuminated with a led light

Thank you very much for sharing. I've responded to your link on my post when you shared your version "The Portal". Very inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64