You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Makes Good Fiction?

in #blog7 years ago

If you dig through enough piles of shit, you always eventually hit a gold nugget, however small. That's why Michael Bay directed/wrote one of the best and well-known commercials of all time (the original "got milk" commercial) and yet produces a lot of flaming garbage nearly exclusively.

But yeah, Catcher in the Rye actually IS a book you need to read. Not because it's good, because it really objectively isn't, but because it perfectly describes the precise antithesis to the pulp-rev movement and gives a frightening look into what the future would look like without superversive fiction.

Sort:  

I honestly don't know if I have the stomach for it. I know it's a stunning example of how not to write an entertaining book, but I have enough examples of entertaining fiction to keep me interested. Not only that, but I've also read plenty of litfic nonsense, even a bunch masquerading as scifi/fantasy/adventure fiction, so I know exactly what that world looks like. It's a horrifying place, and one I'm personally working to move us away from as far as possible.
#NoMoreBoringStories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49