Lighted Tree in the Snow StormsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Well, here in wonderful Michigan we are getting nailed with a snowstorm. It has been snowing since around 9:15 a.m. and hasn't stopped since. The wind has picked up as the night has progressed and is blowing quite significantly at this point.

20171213_193703 (3).jpg

I literally just got done shoveling the driveway and it was packed with about 8 inches of snow. I could not help but think now was a perfect time, in the midst of this blowing mess, to take a picture of our front yard tree. We have been lighting it up the past two years and realized I have never taken a picture of it.

20171213_193703 (2).jpg

So I stood out in the middle of the driveway and took a couple pictures of it. Unfortunately, all I had with me was my cell phone and the pictures just don't do it justice with all the snow blowing around and the fact that this is not a professional camera. Nonetheless, it was fun and I wanted to share with you all on Steemit!

northernpicker_blue.png

Thank you to all of you who have been taking the time to read this blog, upvote, share, and comment! I appreciate you all. ~NP

Follow me @northernpicker
Check Out The Northern Picker Podcast http://www.thenorthernpicker.com/podcast-2/

Sort:  

thats a lot of snow I wont complain about the 3 inches we may get tonight

the tree looks real nice lit up like that

Thanks! I think it is going to keep snowing for the next 3-4 more hours. Not fun shoveling that is for sure! The tree looks so much better in person. Really hard to capture the moment with a cell phone in the dark and with blowing snow.

You did well with s phone I think

Still hasn’t started here yet will see i the morning

Hopefully, you don't get it too bad.

we didn’t get much at all maybe only 2 inches as of when I caught the train this morning

Good, so glad you didn't get slammed. It ended up being a temp of (-1) this morning. It got really cold after it moved through.

Brrrr that is very cold
Stay warm

Yeah I'm in Michigan too. Its is nasty. I already hate winter again!

I hear ya. Year after year it's the same ole story!

Congratulations @northernpicker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very nice! And I commend your valiant efforts in taking the photo, despite the cold chaos around you. Merry Christmas! I am a native Midwesterner, now living in SoCal. I can't say that I "miss" the snow. However, I do remember how lovely it can be, especially in moments such as the one you captured :)

Merry Christmas to you as well. I like the snow from December 24th to Jan 1st. After that is can go away. hahaha SoCal must be really nice this time of year!

That is a pretty lit tree!!! You got a good shot using your cell. I prefer using my Cannon but sometimes I don’t have it available and I have to use my cell too. I wonder when we’ll get some snow, it’s so beautiful!

Thank you! Cell phones are tricky to even get them to turn out halfway decent. Before you know it you will probably get some snow too.

You’re welcome! Oh yes they can be very tricky. Most of the time I have to take quite a few shots just to get it right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69