Are You Overlooking Vintage Tool Boxes and Chests? They have value!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

One of the things I really keep my eyes peeled for on my travels is vintage tool boxes and chests. I can typically find them at estate sales, garage sales, pawn shops and auctions. And when I can find them for a few bucks I swoop them up to sell online. Primarily on eBay, Etsy or Facebook. If indeed you are going to sell these on eBay I would suggest not selling them at auction but as a Buy It Now / Best Offer. I consistently get the prices I have listed below on these items when I sell BIN with BO. When researching eBay for vintage tool boxes you will see that selling prices are much lower at auction. Therefore I never sell these as an eBay auction.

Now what I end up finding very interesting is how often they are overlooked and undervalued which is very good for us pickers. I tend to grab them at all hours of the day and at rather low prices. I am talking $15 or less. I have actually watched several of my competitors pass them by thinking they are not valuable or are too troublesome to sell.

Here are a few things to keep in mind when considering a play on tool boxes and chests:


  1. Do some homework before going out in the field if you are not familiar with these. What brands sell and for how much? What are different types of boxes and chests within that brand?

  2. What price range do they sell for and is it worth pulling the trigger on? Make sure you are looking at the correct box when researching current prices. Different sizes, types, and conditions yield different profits!

  3. What is the size and weight of the toolbox or chest? Is it even possible to ship it or do I need to sell it locally?
    Remember condition is everything. They don’t have to be perfect and rust free. But don’t expect much out of ones that are all beat the heck they are not worth picking up most of the time.

  4. I recommend being able to box it with added protection so it does not get dented up or damaged during shipping. I would diffidently be using Ebay’s and Etsy’s calculated shipping option.

  5. I highly suggest that you pre-weigh the item with the packing materials and the box it is going in and take measurements of the box when listing it so you don’t get burned on your shipping especially if your buyer is 2500 miles away. Don’t be afraid of heavy items they can be very profitable. If you take your time and do your due diligence on the mail calculations you will be fine.

Let’s take a look at a few of the ones I have sold. As you will see there is money to be made if you buy them cheap enough. Let's take a look at the examples.



s-l500.jpg
Gerstner and Sons Quartersawn Oak Tool Chest 7 Drawer Box W/Key (Hint: Keys really increase the value) $120 to $400+ based on condition and size.




Milwaukee Sawzall Tool Box $24 to $59 in good to great condition.




Vintage Craftsman Tool Box - Valued at $35 to 60 based on condition.



1970's Snap On Tool Box - These can be valued $35 to $90 and even higher.




Well, there ya go. I have sold several of these and others brands not mentioned. If you are a reseller and you're not in this market I really hope this gets you to think about ways you can incorporate these boxes and chests into your business model. And if you happen to not be a reseller and you're looking for a way to make extra money, you can start by picking up some of these vintage tool boxes up at garage sales and thrift stores and begin selling them online. Start making some extra money today!

northernpicker_blue.png

Thank you to all of you who have been taking the time to read this blog, upvote, share, and comment! I appreciate you all. ~NP

Follow me @northernpicker
Check Out The Northern Picker Podcast http://www.thenorthernpicker.com/podcast-2/

Sort:  

Very cool. We have a ton of auctions around NW Indiana and want to start "picking", but lack the knowledge of what actually is valuable and what is just someone else's junk. Can't wait to learn more about different valuable items that might be considered "junk", but are actually valuable.

I will be posting nuggets here on Steemit :) So you in luck. LOL There is a feature on eBay called completed listings. It is a great resource, especially if you are just learning. You can search any item and see if it sold and what it sold for in the last 30 days. Great way to learn.

Thanks for the advice.

Oh! Clearly, there is no voting power to speak of, but, I loved your post. I am not sure I would be able to part with that wooden tool chest!

She's a beauty!

So, you are a picker? Now that is an interesting and fun kind of job! Thank you! A very cool post.

Thanks, Denise... Yes, I am a picker. Love the hunt and the find. I have sold some very beautiful tool chests. Hard to not get attached to cool items. I really have to not become emotionally attached to the items I find or I wouldn't make a living. Can be easier said than done for some people. Thanks for checking out the post.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you! I am willing to share.

I have an old wooden one like the one in your photo that I bought over 30 years ago to use as a jewelry box. It has served me well!

Some of those old wooden ones are really nice looking! Sounds like you put yours to good use :) Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @northernpicker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @northernpicker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64