My first experience with a con artiste

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20181007_210906_edit.png

So just to piggyback on my previous article, I want to tell my story about how I first fell for the trick of a con artiste.

I have lived in lagos, the former capital of Nigeria, for almost all my life and this has in some way sharpened my senses in a way, in terms of detecting a scam. It is a necessary skill one needs in other to survive in Lagos.

Despite my years of experience on the street of lagos, coupled with the numerous stories I have heard, I was still a victim. Yes I have fallen into the hands of con artists. They played on one of my weaknesses: my inability to say 'no' to people. Fortunately (or should I say unfortunately) I have a really large heart, that makes me susceptible to the antics of unscrupulous people.

So that faithful day, I think this was in 2014, I went to the market with my mum. It was the week before Christmas and we were preparing for the festive season. We went to shop in idomota market, which is like the biggest markets in lagos, and it was my very first time going there. After my mum was done shopping I was to carry the stuff she bought home. She gave me some money for my bus fare, that was about a thousand naira, and also had some spare change with me. So she handed me the stuff and give me directions and I was on my way back home. Unknown to me I was going to encounter some con artistes.

Idomota is a really big market, so I kinda lost my way, but this is lagos, the one place in the world I don't think I can get lost in, so I tried navigating my way to the bus stop.

Luckily for me I found my way to the bus stop but on approaching there I got stop by a stranger.

"Oga (boss), come and play our--"

"I'm not interested" I shunned him.

But he was persistent, "Chairman, na free..." he said, listing a number of things I could win. I looked over their corner where I saw another guy shuffling plastic cups on a wooden table and the items the said stranger said I could win. I wasn't still convinced, but I had nothing to lose, like he said the game was free. Though reluctant I decided to play. Wrong move.

"You see this ball?" he held up a tiny pebble-like ball, " I'm going to put it in one of these red plastic cups, and if you can predict the cup that the ball is under after a shuffle them then you win a gas cooker. "

Sounded good.

So he shuffles and I made my pick. Luckily enough for me I made the right pick and they passed me the gas cooker. Wow, I thought, this is actually legit.

"Would you like to play again?" he asked.

"Well--"

" It's just one thousand naira."

I was taken aback. " but you said it was free?"

"That was the first game."

"But I don't have a thousand naira"

" How much do you have?"

"Well," I dipped my hand in my back pocket, " I have two hundred naira," trying to con a con artist.

" Okay, bring it," he stretched out his hands.

I brought out five hundred naira and asked for my change.He collected the money immediately and reshuffled the cups. Unfortunately for me, my pick was wrong. He requested that I try again with another money. That was my cue. I told him I was not interested and needed my change. Suddenly from nowhere came another stranger who dragged the the portable gas cooker from my hands.

"Get out of here or I will pour you acid." he whispered sternly.

It was then I realised that it was scam. I was too startled to react rationally, my only response was to move away.

There where some policemen right about the next corner, but knowing fully well what they are capable of, I decided not to bother.

Playing that event again in my head after I got home made me feel so stupid. How could I have fallen for a cheesy scam like that? But then again, do scams have to be elaborate in other to achieve their goal? As long as it plays to the victim's vanity and insecurity it will be potent.

Since that day whenever I see people doing stuff like that I take a detour. Once bitten twice shy, I will not be fooled again.

So share with, how you ever been scammed? What led to the incident?


Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Sort:  

I guess my nearest experience of a scam is when a girl I worked with ordered some Avon cosmetics from me and didn't quite have enough to pay. I foolishly said she could pay when had the money and didn't take the part she offered. Throughout the week I kept reminding her of the payment and she kept making excuses. Then she was sacked because it turned out she was stealing front the till. There went my chance of getting payment.

It wasn't too much, really, but the manager actually ended up giving me what she should have paid as he felt it was partly his fault for not vetting her properly.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess my nearest experience of a scam is when a girl I worked with ordered some Avon cosmetics from me and didn't quite have enough to pay. I foolishly said she could pay when had the money and didn't take the part she offered. Throughout the week I kept reminding her of the payment and she kept making excuses. Then she was sacked because it turned out she was stealing front the till. There went my chance of getting payment.

It wasn't too much, really, but the manager actually ended up giving me what she should have paid as he felt it was partly his fault for not vetting her properly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69