A What's Up, Hello, Introduction and Hidey-Ho.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I always thought that blogs should begin with something profound. First impressions matter, and surely a light-hearted introductory post would make me seem wanting. Then again, it's a blog for heaven's sake! It's just a blog. Plus, who wants to be too serious in this disappointing society in which we live. Taking all of this into account, I thought I'd start off with a quick hello - after boring you with this first paragraph.

So, who am I?

My name's Nicole, I'm in my thirties and I'm attempting to make some sort of living online. Self-employment gives me the option of travelling when I want, sleeping in 'til midday, and working in my pyjamas. If I had to describe my job, I'd say I'm a music journalist because I spend most of my time working on my music magazine, The Other Side Reviews. If I'm not physically working on the site or managing emails, I'm thinking about features, interviews and other things I need to do with Other Side.

While I write about music and do interviews with different artists, my background is in psychology and special needs. I enjoy social psychology, and I think it serves me well when I'm analysing an album or conducting an interview. The Other Side Reviews promotes new bands, and I'm fortunate enough to meet some bands that go on to make names for themselves during the 'grassroots' stages.

I'm not sure what else there is to say about me. In my spare time, I love doing tapestries and cross-stitch. I'm a massive fan of My Chemical Romance and Chicago. I'm a sucker for any BBC period piece dramas or old-school Disney. I could live off my Mum's macaroni and cheese.

I suppose, that's it. If you need to know more, merely ask - I'm an open book. It's sometimes a good thing, but mostly bad according to my sister.

Thanks for reading, I'll be sure to write something with more substance in future posts. :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @nicolem! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40