You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing a Novel

in #blog7 years ago

Not necessarily. I think the nature of story, the story arc, etc, is more than just cultural (there is no society in the world that does not have stories). I think story patterns express the nature of the human mind and how our brains are constructed/work.

Therefore, stories from the past are like evolution, the only ones we know about are the successful ones that chime with the human brain/mind. The rest have disappeared -
become extinct. I think 200 years ago, writing a successful novel was a lot more hit-and-miss than it is today.

Back then, they would have loved to have access to the wealth of story and writing information we possess.

I think the internet has made story more important to human society not less.

If the internet is being shaped by story, I wonder if the internet itself reflects the nature of the human mind/brain. Ooh, that's a deep question - I will have to consider a post on that one.

Sort:  

You can find more of my posts, articles, and stories in My Steemit Library:

Alt text

Nick

(The link will take you away from Steemit.com, but the library links bring you back again)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63