Challenge $300 to $3000steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Now while I do love steemit and some of the users that I have found on here, there seems to be something missing.

For me it is a sense of purpose or a goal to work towards.

I spend very little time on social media barring Facebook where all my friends exist and to remember birthdays (so handy) and since July, Steemit where I am genuinely excited to be a part of. However while I do dabble in crypto and like computers, I am far from involved in either. My only pastimes are drinking pints and following sports so not much to blog there. I do like books and movies but they are not the most talked about interests on the site.

I love finding new bloggers and people on here with a real passion or interest to follow and learn something new. Since joining the site I have branched into whole new areas of life that I never knew existed before and been introduced to opportunities that most of my friends know nothing about. I start talking about the site or crypto and most lose all interest.
Most not all.
A couple have been persuaded to take a look on steemit and see what its all about.

With all this in mind and a long winter ahead I have decided to challenge myself to turn my account value from $300 ($290 technically) into a value of $3000. Not for the money but for the clear specific goal to work towards. This is a long term goal which will need to be taken on from multiple angles with the time and effort put in.

In the corner of my room I keep a big plastic jar. I do this to throw all my loose change into it. Every cent I find on the ground, in my car, a few euro after a night out. Just keep throwing it into the jar at the end of every day. It had been a busy summer and few months before that too, so the jar had actually turned into a jar and a sweet box. I sat down last week and emptied the whole thing out sorting it for the bank. Just over €900 had accumulated since the last time I had emptied it.

I cant remember when that was but I think around June 2016 for a holiday. 15 months of collecting. That is how I will approach this. Every cent from a good post, a comment, a share sbd post will accumulate in my account, slowly at first but as time goes by I hope it will turn into dollars accumulating.

I will try to post regularly, comment enthusiastically and follow wisely. As I work towards my goal hopefully a few more people will join me on my journey and push themselves a bit more as well. I am hoping as a side effect of my challenge to gather a community of interesting and like minded people who will add a different kind of value to what I am about to start. If it takes a month, a year or a decade I will get to my end goal just through sheer stubbornness and refusal to quit.

To anybody reading this, feel free to comment, follow, advise or challenge. I hope to meet many more interesting people on the site as it grows over the next months.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @niallon11 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you for following me back! Great job with this post!

Thanks. I really enjoy steemit I just wanted some structure to what i was doing.

If you like to work together we can share some techniques! maybe start a small group creat some tools Im brushing up on my python skills right now

Absolutely. My hope for steemit is to meet driven people who are interested in doing more. If you want to work on anything then I am up for it.

OK, Ill try to put down my approch here to connect with others and to add good content etc if you would like to do the same we can start by sharing this, then go from there

Perfect. If we can get a few dedicated people working together it would give us a nice base to work from. I will be trying to post quality rather than quantity but multiple times a week. Sharing and promoting content should get some people interested hopefully.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niallon11 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45