🤔Y'alls trying to compete against steemit?🤔

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

By now, Steemit has picked up some significant notice since the platform has grown tremendously from it's inception.

There are a few other platforms out there trying to do a copy cat style of steemit, but always slightly different.

Another one I found today is called "Y'alls" - https://yalls.org/

This one is apparently run off the lightning network, but is different than steemit.

So far this is what I've noticed about Y'alls:

  • It's brand new...like no traffic at all brand new...like only 20 posts even posted on it new.
  • You have to pay to post an article
  • You have to pay to read the rest of the article
  • You don't have a profile, you just post
  • No categories that I can find
  • You can "boost" an article for more exposure

The concept is interesting, but I just can't see the longevity at the moment.

My opinion

I find it super odd that I'd have to pay to read the rest of an article when it could be a totally terrible article.  

Some things to consider:  

  • Do I get my money back if I hate the article?
  • I feel like it's possible to game the system on the article length to force payouts
  • How do I know if it's just a copy and paste from another article around the internet?

I'm sure there will be a lot of changes along the way that makes this platform more enticing, but for the moment I don't fully get it.

I'd be curious to hear what you guys think about the platform and it's potential longevity.

~nX

Sort:  

Any reason for the partial decline/plateauing of traffic on Steemit? Seems to be concerning to say the least. Traffic seems to have mirrored the explosion in crypto market cap/ICO craze of the summer, and while market caps and interest in the crypto space are still at all time highs, interest in the Steem platform seems to be dictated by the price of the STEEM, the cryptocurrency, not the other way around, where user engagement and growth on Steemit.com drives STEEM prices. Hopefully, we'll see a reversal if and when the platform grows!

Yeah I don't have a great answer based on fact, rather than just pure speculation.

It could be a multitude of reasons.

1 - It takes time for any platform to start to catch critical mass
2 - March is when the market started to explode and maybe things are settling out now
3 - Maybe people hopped on steem for a month or 2 and now the temporary users have stopped coming back
4 - Steem has been a little glitchy lately and maybe people haven't come back because of it
5 - Everything goes in cycles and maybe it's having a downward cycle for the moment.

I honestly don't have a specific reason I think why, but it hasn't exactly "tanked", just had a downward movement. You also have to remember these are "estimated visits" so it could be more or less.

~nX

Pay to post an article?

Isn't that going backwards?

On what level does that make any sense?

Yeah the concept is a little foreign to me too.

I think what is also odd is the fact that the general reader has to pay to read the rest of the article once it hits X amount of characters.

Couldn't you just game the system to always go past the minimum and force people to pay to read the rest of your article?

I just don't see the concept lasting super long unless they make some adjustments...but that's just my opinion.

My understanding is that the blockchain is meant to help REWARD content creators. I understand having readers pay, but isn't that the model the publishers used for years. And how are the authors being compensated.

If I have to pay to put the article up and you have to pay to read it, how are either of us making any money?

It seems to me the platform/site will be the one making the money...which is Facebook and Blogger all over again.

So I agree, I fail to see how that can take off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86